From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/01/2017 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hey there, Im Becky,
    Ive did one workaway project last year - which I loved! In fact I would go as far to say that its was life changing and incredibly inspiring and has left me wanting to participate more and be open to such beautiful approaches to life!

    so a little about me

    I travelled solo around Latin America on 2 seperate occasions which was fantastic!
    Staying with host families whilst volunteering doing various projects across 3 years. I loved being immersed in a completely contrasting cultures, throwing myself outside my comfort zones and adapting to any challenges that lay ahead,
    I was able to learn spanish whilst living with different families in Mexico, a mayan afamily in Guatemala and a Guambiano family in Colombia, different cultures really fascinate me and im intrigued my anthropolgy, indigenous cultures and traditions.

    I also spent a beauitful month volunteering in a moutain community in Nicaragua, teaching English in a very remote place, whilst living amongst on a far in a mud house, with very basic amenities.
    Ive also volunteered on a tropical island with an indigenous population of 40 people , in Panama, pruning Cacoa trees and creating a moasic feature in their kitchen.

    Whilst at home in England, I work as a Knitwear Designer, keeping the nation warm.

    I love being creative in an artstic sense and also through cooking.

    I love the outdoors and mountainous landscapes and the beauty that comes with being in nature.
    Im open minded, and love learning about different approaches to life.

    I enjoy yoga i am really pushing this area in my life along with / philosopy/ reading /cooking and nutrition.

    Im hardworking enthusiatic and eager to learn.

    Currently I am interested in projects surrounding straw bale housing/ cob building/permaculture/ sustainability, renovation/ farming etc, with the interest of accumilating skills that I can then apply to my own way of living.

    Im interested in working with other people here in England and volunteering this time at home as opposed to abroad and meet some like minded people closer to home.

    Im hard working, hands on, a great team player but can easily work independantly.

    On my l 2 weeks workaway project ( my only one to date ) I was involved in the construction of the strawbale house everyday - up on the roof constructing the roof with other skilled carpenters, I am really interesting in learning carpentry skill so eager to work on any thing related inthis field although I am a novice.
    I was also planting seeds/ mulching/sything / harvesting. Im eager to learn more here also.

    i love the idea of skill swapping ie my yoga for your french or my english for your cooking - lets all create and share

    Thanks for taking time to read my profile.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    from previous other volunteering I have
    gardening / colletcting fire wood/ harvesting/ pruning skills.
    gerneral DIY skills / painting.
    I have taugh english in peru/ guatemala/ Nicaragua
    milked cows
    creative, working with wool / drawing /painting
    I play basic piano and enjoy being musical ( although i play just mainly for myself)
    cooking /cleaning house maintenance/
    im great with kids / animals
    hard working / good work ethics and quick learner

  • Languages spoken


  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    joining work away is a chance for me to meet like minded people, share experiences learn new skills and work on projects that I find fulfilling.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


painted table inspired by Mexican embroidery
a little crafty pom pom project
me my tent and I a solo adventure!
My Gorgeous guatemalan family
food preparation
a beautiful friend, a beautiful journey
cooking for these locals !!
my iguana mosaic creation
cooking something sweet
teaching english in Nicaragua
lunch time for this poor soul