Christopher & Sahira

From: United States & Chile

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/08/2018 - 10/04/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Update - currently in Huanchaco, Peru volunteering for a month.

    Hello! We're Christopher and Sahira and we're currently working, traveling and volunteering SA. We have some abilities between us and are fast learners if it's something new.
    We just arrived in Ecuador after five months in Colombia. We have a couple more months before we're headed back to Chile and would like to spend that time volunteering on the coast. Ideally we would like to help at a place where we can practice yoga and surf. Sahira can lead classes as well. Some things we've helped WA hosts with so far: social media, website assistance, translations, building projects, painting, reception and guest service, marketing, language teaching, and language consulting.
    Christopher: I'm from the USA and have mostly been a language teacher since 2015. I have a bachelor's and CELTA and a few other skills I've picked up from previous jobs. Currently my goals are to learn to surf and gain fluency in Spanish. My Spanish has improved a lot but I haven't had much opportunity to surf so I'm excited to spend some time on the coast. Other things I can help with are writing and editing, bartending, and basic construction and agriculture. I can learn most things by watching. Football (soccer) is my favorite sport and I try to play whenever I can.
    Sahira: I'm 26 and from Chile. I grew up between Chile and Brazil and have lived, worked and studied in Europe and Asia. I went to university in Chile and after I graduated I moved to Vietnam, where i taught English for a year. For the past 2 months I've been teaching business English in Bogotá, I also have experience working in hostels and costumer service. I have a master in Management and sustainable business but even when my background is more linked to business I would like to continue working around languages and new things. I'm a quick learner and I'm open to new challenges. I'm adaptable and empathetic. I have been practicing yoga for 7 years and spent 20 days in India at a yoga teacher training working as a interpreter. I would love to keep practicing it while traveling.
    Hola! Somos Christopher y Sahira y actualmente haciendo un voluntariado en Perú. Tenemos 29 y 26 años.

    Chris: Soy estadounidense y periodista. Mi lengua materna es Inglés y tengo un nivel pre intermedio de español, pero estoy ansioso y con muchas ganas de seguir mejorando. He trabajado múltiples tipos de trabajos y me encanta aprender nuevas cosas y ganar habilidades. He estado en Bogotá 3 meses enseñando business English. Otros trabajos que he tendido han sido Barman, editor, mesero, servicio al cliente, ventas, contrucción, agricultura. Viví dos años y medio en Vietnam, donde enseñé inglés. Me es fácil aprender nuevas cosas con tan solo mirar y escuchar. Me encantan los deportes, sin embargo, fútbol es mi favorito. Tengo conmigo mis guayos, así puedo jugar durante mi viaje. También estoy aprendiendo a surfear.
    Sahira: Soy chilena y tengo 26 años, Crecí entre Chile y Brasil. He vivido, trabajado y estudiado en Europa y Asia. Hice mi pregrado y postgrado en Chile y luego de graduada me mudé a Vietnam, donde enseñé inglés durante un año. Durante los últimos dos meses he enseñado business English en Bogotá, también tengo experiencia trabajando en hostales y servicio al cliente . Tengo un máster en Gestión estratégica con mención en negocios sustentables. Aunque mis estudios están ligados a negocios y administración, me gustaría continuar trabajando con lenguajes y cosas nuevas. Estoy dispuesta y ansiosa por aprender nuevas cosas, me encantan los desafíos. Soy muy empática y me es muy fácil adaptarme a nuevos ambientes. Llevo 7 años practicando yoga y trabajé como intérprete en un TTC (yoga teacher training) en Rishikesh. Me encantaría tener la posibilidad de seguir practicando durante este viaje.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    - Language: English, conversational Spanish
    - Bartending
    - Writing & Editing - a few years working on newspapers
    - Photography
    - Teaching: CELTA, 4 years experience in ESL, 6 total
    - Customer Service
    - Social media
    - Basic construction / agriculture
    - Painting

    - Teaching languages ( I have a TEFL and taught in Asia, Chile and Colombia)
    - Translation and Interpretation ( Advanced Spanish, English and Portuguese)
    - I have a business degree and Master, so i can help with anything related to Management, Marketing and Finances.
    - Serving
    - Reception
    - Vegetarian cuisine
    - Yoga
    - Social Media Management
    - Wordpress

  • Languages spoken

    English (both), Spanish (both), Portuguese (S), Intermediate German (S), Beginner Vietnamese (both), Learning Esperanto (both)

  • Age

    29 & 26

  • Nationality

    USA / Chile

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Sahira is vegetarian