Bethany

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm a 29-year-old female, and am very down-to-earth, hard-working, nature-seeking, non-judgmental, open-minded, responsible, respectful, organized, and very clean. I grew up in Minnesota, United States, where I was raised in the country on a hobby farm. We had cats, dogs, chickens, many vegetable and flower gardens, and a never ending list of labor intensive jobs. As such, I am very familiar with country life, and have also spent time over a couple summers at my aunt and uncle's beef farm where I gained farm chore experience.

    At 18, I left country life and headed to college at Cornell University. I was constantly running through life: I went through school barely sleeping, worked in fast-paced restaurants, started up a food truck, then took an HR position in New York City, and after a few years transferred into another office across the country in Los Angeles. Eventually, the effect stress was having on my health forced me to step away from it all.

    It's now been 3 years of this life-changing experience since quitting my 9-5. It's been full of the ups and downs of learning, personal development, and taking time to get to know myself. I started my own health coaching business, and am learning to shift into a perspective that helps me change the way I see situations that once caused me stress. Since May 2018, I also began living a nomadic lifestyle through house/petsitting, workaways, couch-surfing, visiting friends/family, and doing lots of traveling abroad and around the U.S. (Though I've been on Maui since mid-March, staying covid-safe during my long-term couch-surf with an elderly man. It's time for me to move on though!)

    I'm an absolute people person, and I love the idea of learning new skills, helping others out, and getting to know/hang with future friends. Currently, some of the things I'd especially like to learn through Workaway experiences are sustainable farming, processes around off-grid living, building/construction, and/or fix-it jobs around the home, as I'm very interested in the idea of self-sufficiency. (Though I'm certainly happy with other jobs as well.)

    I'm also very passionate about the education system and how it might be redesigned to be better suited towards student health & happiness, and our ever-changing world. As such, I would be thrilled to help homeschool to expand my experience and understanding.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Team sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    - Bachelor Degree in Business/Hospitality; minor in Nutritional Science
    - Health Coaching certificate
    - Management / Leadership
    - Child & Elderly Care (I've had paid experience)
    - Cooking / Baking (I've worked in many restaurants)
    - Familiar with Farm Animals and associated chores
    - Gardening
    - Manual Labor
    - General Yard Work
    - Great Communicator
    - Organization / Cleaning
    - Computer Skills (incl. Microsoft Office, Social Media, Websites, etc.)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Always happy to speak with anyone who wants to become more fluent in English. I also speak Spanish pretty well (though need to get into the flow, as it's sometimes been a while since I've spoken), and I'm always open to the opportunity to practice, though I may need a little prompting :)

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    Characteristics:
    - Quick Learner
    - Genuine & Caring
    - Teamwork Oriented
    - Friendly & Optimistic
    - Understanding & Patient
    - Get along well with others
    - Not afraid of hard work
    - Physically Strong & Healthy

    Passionate About:
    - Learning
    - Music
    - Playing Piano
    - Ice-Skating
    - (Acro) Yoga
    - Meditation/Visualization
    - Nature
    - Self-Sufficiency
    - Minimalism
    - Food
    - Health
    - Alternative Healing
    - Education
    - Hospitality
    - Traveling
    - Meeting new people
    - Challenging my beliefs
    - Experiencing new things
    - Seeing different perspectives
    - Getting out of my comfort zone

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Caffeine

    • Special dietary requirements
      gluten free & plant-based (more than fine cooking my own meals, otherwise I am not too picky)

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback