Alicia

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (14)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I love hiking, backpacking, writing, reading, and swimming. Being active and moving my body in some way is very important for me.

    My next destination:

    Hawaii, United States - from May 2022 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I am a university student from Connecticut in my second year at school in Vermont. I took a gap year last year because of COVID and it was one of the best decisions of my life. I have a passion for traveling and learning new languages and cultures. I am hardworking and love being outdoors immersed in nature.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am very hardworking and motivated and love having tasks to do to keep busy. A couple years ago I stayed in an indigenous village in Costa Rica and helped build a new bathroom for the local school. I love that kind of direct community immersion and impact and hope to be able to have more experiences like that.

    Last year I did my first workaway in St. Croix, USVI, where I helped renovate a vegan eco hotel. I did a lot of painting, various construction projects, gardening, and also learned how to cook lots of delicious vegan dishes.

    A couple months later, I made my way to Switzerland where I au paired for a family with three young boys.

    I am a quick learner so I can help with lots of different types of work, whether it be reception duties at a hostel, painting and some construction (though I'm not a professional by any means), teaching English, childcare, and welcoming/entertaining guests. I'm a pretty flexible person so I'm open to other possibilities as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    My mom is from Spain but because I don't use my Spanish that often, it is getting a little bit rusty. I understand everything but speaking is a little harder for me. I would hate to lose the language completely, so I really want to spend this summer practicing. I am happy to teach English, and in high school I tutored a young girl from Germany in English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      pescatarian

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback