aurora840

From: Sweden

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2017 - 20/02/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Ainsley (26, originally from England) has a degree in Archaelogy and has a deep interest for nature. He has done volunteering on farms and on a sailboat before as well as participated in a wilderness survival course. Studying and living in a city has made him realise how much he disliked city living and the busy, materialistic lifestyle.
    Jessica (27, originally from Germany) has a degree in Cognitive Science and has worked as a university researcher for a year. She is interested in nutrition, yoga, exercise, spending time in nature, animal care, photography and many other things.
    We are both outdoor enthusiasts and love running/mountain hiking.
    After studying and following the "traditional" trajectory of life, we have found that we wanted something different: not your standard 9-to-5 job where it is all about the money, but something more connected to nature and anti-capitalistic living. Through workaway, we hope to support other people's projects (especially interested in organic, sustainable farming and permaculture etc.) and gain more experience with alternative methods of living and sustaining yourself. We currently live in the middle of Sweden in a very remote area. We are vegans and care about animals, staying healthy and protecting our beautiful planet :) We're easy-going and willing to work hard for things we believe in.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Ainsley has done WWOOFing before (on horse farms, so has experience with horses) and has experience with all kinds of practical work such as building (basic carpentry) and farming.
    Jessica is a "newbie" to volunteer work but has grown up with horses (and other animals), so she knows how to take care of horses, stables etc. She is not an expert in handywork but knows how to operate a hammer, a drill and other equipment.
    Edit: No newbie anymore :) After a few great workaways in 2017 she has more experience in all sorts of general maintenance work, gardening and much more.
    She's not afraid of doing heavy physical work! Other than that, she's experienced at cooking vegan food (while making sure it fulfills nutritional needs), does yoga and other exercise regularly. She has taught languages before so would be happy to teach.
    We both are quick learners, not afraid of hard work and very reliable. We also have basic computer skills so if help with that is required, we can try :)

  • Languages spoken

    Jessica: German, English, French (medium), Swedish (basic); Ainsley: English, Swedish (basic)

  • Age

    29 & 27

  • Nationality

    Jessica: German, Ainsley: English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan - but we do not require any special products, just food that usually everyone has in their kitchen such as veggies, fruit, rice, pasta, potatoes... and we are happy to make our own food :)

Feedback