Allison & Michael

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a couple in our mid-30's that loves being in nature, exploring, traveling, and adventures. We are deeply connected to our communities all over the U.S. We have lived in San Francisco for over 6 years, and previously lived together in Ann Arbor, Michigan and Boston, Massachusetts. We have lived in community (both as individuals and as a couple), and we love to stay with others when we travel and host friends who come our way. We are committed to social justice (racial justice, immigrant rights, LGBTQ rights, etc.) in our personal and professional lives.

    Allison is fluent in Spanish, and loves: running, walking, and playing soccer, tennis, and frisbee; reading; being outside in nature; camping and hiking; sending postcards; traveling; working on organic farms and gardens and other food justice projects; meeting new people; being involved in community projects; and playing with children and big dogs (especially golden retrievers!). She is an introvert but also loves being around people, and she's learned how to get that balance right (most of the time!).

    Mike enjoys running, walking, hiking, playing soccer and basketball, reading, going out for tasty meals, and watching movies. After a long day of activity, he loves to mellow out with some music and a good movie. He's always down for talking about current events, whether political, social or cultural (including sports), and is passionate about public service. He would be interested in getting involved with local civic and community opportunities, especially those that elevate the power and voice of low-income communities. Mike is probably an extrovert, but he is comfortable for long stretches by himself and can adapt to different social situations.

    We are currently staying on a farm in Hawai'i, and we are thinking ahead to travel options for 2022.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Languages
    Books
    Vegetarian or vegan
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Languages
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Allison's skills: Spanish fluency; Spanish-English translation; experienced dog and cat sitter; organic farming training and experience; childcare; writing and editing; tutoring (esp. English, Spanish, writing, reading). Allison works as a consultant to nonprofit organizations, providing support with strategic planning and program evaluation. She also has experience working with unhoused individuals, women living in shelter, immigrants, and migrant farmworkers.

    Mike's skills: Experienced house painter; some gardening experience; great with household chores; writing and editing; tutoring (esp. writing, reading). Mike works as a grant maker to nonprofit organizations, where he uses skills in strategic planning, negotiation, and writing on a daily basis.

  • Age

    37 & 39

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We are both vegans, though Mike is more flexible :) Allison also avoids flour/gluten.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback