ashshaefer

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Aruba, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/05/2018 - 03/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    974

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Ashley. I am an English teacher at a private high school in Charlotte, North Carolina. While my full-time job, new husband, and dog keep me busy during the academic year, I hope to enjoy some adventures as a Workawayer during my 8 weeks off each summer.
    I have traveled through the Workaway program twice before, once with a fellow teacher to Switzerland, and once by myself to Washington state in the USA I am hoping to continue to use Workaway in future summers on my own or with other friends or family members.
    I am 34 years old and physically fit, I enjoy the outdoors, and I am an adventurous eater. I am an easygoing person and think of a Workaway experience as a way to travel to places I might not see (or be able to afford) on my own, but I can promise to be reliable about the tasks I'm given and it is important to me to please my hosts. As an English teacher, I would love to stay with hosts who are interested in language immersion and cultural exchange. I would love working with older children to help them learn English. My first Workaway Experience involved some landscaping work and painting the inside of my hosts' home, but offered a lot of flexibility in terms of my schedule, and this was a great fit for me. I am an incredibly extroverted person who would love opportunities to interact with and serve other tourists. Last but not least, I'm actually an excellent cook and really experienced with cooking vegetarian fare, so I'd love to spend my next Workaway experience in a kitchen!
    My lifetime of travel experiences so far has taken me to France, the Czech Republic, Germany, Austria, Mexico, Canada, Italy, Switzerland, Norway, Sweden, Colombia, and lots of places in the USA and Canada (most recently, Toronto, New Orleans, and Joshua Tree National Park). I am excited to put a new pin in the map!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    A quick learner, physically capable and willing to do a number of tasks. As far as things I am especially good at, that would be cooking and language instruction! I am a dog owner and love animals. I have some basic gardening skills and spend a lot of time outside and exercising (running, biking, yoga).

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    USA

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback