Ashley

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Oregon, United States - from Apr 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! My name is Ashley, I'm an outgoing, fun seeking adrenaline junkie with a passion for spending time in and preserving nature. I pride myself in being a hard working and environmentally conscious person who isn't afraid to speak my mind on topics that I'm passionate about. I am someone who is extremely goal oriented with a love for problem solving and a drive to immerse myself in experiences that I am passionate about. I have an immense interest in learning about sustainable farming, improving my carpentry skills, animal care and I've yet to come across an eco project that hasn't sparked my interest!
    The traveling opportunities that workaway opens up was the first aspect that drew me in. However, since first stumbling across workaway, I have really shifted my outlook to be more experience and education driven. I am looking for a workaway opportunity that is going to expand my knowledge of self sustainability, organic/sustainable farming, culture, travel, handy skills, social justice issues and most of all I'm extremely excited to meet people who have turned my current goals into their lifestyle!
    My friends would describe me as chill or very go with the flow, this makes me the perfect person to throw onto any project or odd job! I try to bring laughter and openness into every situation that I find myself in and I have seen the positive effects it's had on my life and I am very excited to form relationships with people who have those same ideals.
    I am setting my focus on Oregon currently because every time I've visited no matter how long or short the trip was, I was always heartbroken to leave. In my time spent there I've seen that it embodies almost all of my hobbies and views. I also love the sustainable farming community that seems to absolutely flourish there.
    I love any activity that gets me outside and moving around. For the last couple of years I have been an extremely avid skier and snowboarder and Mama Hood (Mt. Hood) is 100% a huge pull factor to Oregon for me. I am also a huge fan of backpacking, rock climbing, mountain biking, skateboarding, painting, drawing, hand-poking rugs and really any DIY project!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I grew up with a “jack of all trades” home builder/contractor father so I’ve had experience in:
    Re-landscaping multiple yards
    Gutting and Re-finishing a basement
    Many re-paintings of insides and outsides of houses
    Gutting and redoing a travel trailer and RV
    Caulking
    Tool knowledge
    Heavy deep cleaning to prepare for a new home move in
    Hole patching

    I also have worked as a barista on and off for about 3 years so I make a mean cup of coffee or some extremely full bodied espresso if you have a machine :)
    I have experience cooking yummy and healthy vegetarian food for myself and others
    I worked as a medical assitant for a few months during Covid so I have some basic knowledge of shots and IV’s
    I’ve had extensive experience caring for pigs, chickens, dogs and cats
    Very internet savvy
    Great at design and decoration
    Semi fluent in ASL
    Excellent communication skills
    Love to teach or help create further knowledge for skills I’ve acquired through time and immersion such as; skiing, snowboarding, climbing, backpacking and really anything else I can help with
    I helped raise three little brothers growing up so I am great with childcare
    Some wilderness survival techniques
    One year of college experience

    I also really flourish when I am given the opportunity to learn a new skill, so I would love to take on many types of projects even if they're not in my current skill set!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    20

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I have a dairy intolerance but I have had it for so long that I have found many simple and quick ways to accomodate for myself.

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.