Alexis

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Lexi.

    First of all, thank you for taking time read my profile. Before I continue, I'd like to address my linked profile and COVID-19.

    ****************

    *Linked Profile*
    My partner, Matthew, and I have just completed our first Workaway and are looking forward to learning more with this platform. We chose not to have a couple's profile, as we'd like to do future Workaways both together and apart. Please take time to visit his profile as well. We have both complementary and similar skillsets, and work very well as a team (having worked together for 4 years). Here's a link to Matthew's profile: https://www.workaway.info/en/workawayer/colglazier

    *COVID-19*
    I take this very seriously. As a guest in your home, I will respect your boundaries. I offer full transparency as to activities involving other people, and request the same from you, so that we may keep each other virus free. I am fully vaccinated with Pfizer.

    *Upcoming Travel*
    No set plans yet!

    ***********

    About Me:

    I'd say I'm a free-spirited, easy-going person with a healthy curiosity for all things life has to offer. As an Interior Designer for the past 8 years, I've worked with many different types of projects, people, and goals. Design is fun. My true passion, however, is in learning from and helping others. I am eager to immerse myself into all cultures, communities, lifestyles, areas of work, charitable and sustainable projects, etc.

    I'd like to help you out in whatever way I can. For example, I'm more than happy to run into town for groceries, cooking meals (I love cooking for others!), get my hands dirty in the garden, and assist with the day to day of your business. Creative art/design/building projects, outdoor maintenance and activities, and taking care of animals are areas I have the most expertise in. I'd also like to learn about farming, gardening, sustainability, languages, and creative outlets I'm not well versed in such as dance and stained glass.

    The travel bug bit me at the age of 4 during a road-trip with my parents and two older sisters. So far, I've traveled to 39/50 United States, spent a year doing internships in San Francisco (California) and Zagreb (Croatia), vacationed to the tiny island of Aruba, wandered around Montreal for a few days, explored much of central Europe (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) via train, and visited many amazing places along the way (Venice, Sarajevo, Ljubljana). The people I've met on my travels have had an immeasurable impact on my life, and I'm so grateful to call many of them friends.

    I look forward to meeting you, swapping stories, sharing what we're passionate about, and helping you achieve your goals. Let's chat!

    ***********

    *Workaways Completed*

    Costa Rica - 2 weeks
    Tasks: sweeping, vacuuming, mopping, pool maintenance (including toad and frog rescue services), gardening, house-sitting (including general maintenance), pet-sitting 3 cats, and the design and painting of a mural.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience in photography, ceramics, drawing and painting (just completed a mural in Costa Rica), creative writing, gardening and botany, performing arts, modeling, cooking various cuisines, mixology, looking after children and animals, house-sitting, and hiking just to name a few.

    Though I follow my artistic inclinations on a day-to day, I maintain a curiosity for all areas of study and practice.

    Growing up, I competed yearly for and took exclusive fine art classes, sang in community choir, and was part of a competition problem solving and improv team. I also participated in school provided activities including show choir, art club, and played alto saxophone for 7 years in jazz, pep, and marching band.

    Family life for me consisted of helping my parents around the home and yard including work such as: re-roofing, changing outlets, clearing drains, mulching, planting and weeding, boat and car cleaning, laundry, and other general household maintenance activities. I developed a strong work ethic and endurance through this, as well as a resourcefulness and do-it-yourself attitude.

    Though I may not posses a skill you are looking for, I am a quick study for those looking to hand off responsibility or in need of an assistant.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I've casually taught myself German for a few years and had taken Spanish classes back in high school. Unfortunately, I have not had the opportunity to speak with others on a regular basis to really develop a comfort with either language. It would mean a lot to finally become fluent with your help. I'm also willing to teach you what I've picked up if you would like to learn.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    For more information on my professional experience, volunteer work, and art, please visit my LinkedIn page and website:

    www.linkedin.com/in/alexismschmidt
    http://alexismschmidt.squarespace.com/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback