Anni

From: Finland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Kenya, Laos, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 01/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    2.9 - 24.9.2019 IN TOMAR, PORTUGAL. OCTOBER, NOVEMBER AVAILABLE.

    >>> 2019/20 I will travel with my Austrian boyfriend Georg (profile attached, see below) together and we are available from August 2019 to June 2020, open to any ideas, any countries >>>

    Hello! I'm Anni, 23-year old Finnish education student, studying to become a teacher (specializing in English and language learning) for the primary and secondary level. Spring 2019 I finished my 3rd year in Uni and I’m taking a year off to travel, volunteer, work & learn. My native language is Finnish, I speak fluently English and I'm also quite good with German and Swedish (always looking for ways to develop my language skills!)

    I spent the spring 2018 in Wien, Austria as an exchange-student and I got to teach English to local 11- and 13-year old pupils. My teaching experience also consists of 2 long-term practices (during my studies) with 2nd and 3rd graders (7-10 -year old pupils) in Finland and working as a substance teacher in different schools. I enjoy spending time with children of all ages, and I try to live through the philosophy of being the type of an adult I would have needed in my life when I was a child. That is why I try to always find time to be present, listen and respect.

    I have a lot of experience also in customer-service and working in a restaurant as a part-timer during my high school and university studies, but also full-time during my gap-year after graduating from High School in spring 2015. These experiences have helped me to stay calm even in stressful situations, handle challenging customers and improvise when needed. I find happiness in helping people the best way I can and making them feel welcome. It also taught me a lot about teamwork, communicating, to keep my working environment always clean and work fast and efficiently.

    My grandparents are strawberry farmers in the central-Finland so I have also been working there every summer for as long as I can remember. That has made me also to enjoy silent independent work, when you just clear your mind and work with your hands. There is something satisfying in the feeling of being completely exhausted after working outside for a long day and seeing immediately the results of the day’s work.

    With "Workaway" I'm just at the beginning of my journey. I volunteered first time in December 2018 on a Huskyfarm in Lapland with my boyfriend (who is very experienced with workaway and introduced it to me in the first place). I loved the experience, working with these amazing animals in the beautiful, wild nature (even -35 degrees), under the northern lights surrounded by snow. I guided the tours, took care of the huskies and served the customers with delicious local cuisine and stories about my home country. I trained the dogs on the track, fed them, cleaned the kennels, cut the meat and walked the puppies and the young ones who couldn’t yet pull. I was also in charge of giving the safety instructions for the customers, fixing the sleds and other equipment, cleaning, warming up the “kota”, taking care of the medication of the old and/or sick huskies, organizing the overalls for the customers and just basically what ever needed to be done!

    In August 2019 I did a 3 week workaway (3 other workawayers, including my boyfriend), helping a host sail his boat from Faro to Lisbon. This was a very unique experience where I learned something very new to me and got to understand how it feels to be in the middle of nowhere in Atlantic and what owning a sailboat requires. I truly hope that I will get at some point another chance to learn more about sailing.

    During this year-off I hope to learn new skills (such as sailing, surfing, yoga, vegetarian/vegan cooking, paddling, kayaking, snorkelling, diving, farming, taking care of animals, training, building, teaching…) and improve the abilities I’ve already got. I want to challenge myself, work hard and meet new people with interesting ideas and stories. I want to understand how you see the world and why and reflect it to my view of the world.

    I'm open for every experience and I want to make the most out of the time I have got.

    As a person, I would say that I'm kind, optimistic and trustworthy.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Strong experience from customer service (McDonalds, R-kioski, Hyvät Lehdet Oy), organized, teaching experience (from Austria & Finland), babysitting, cooking, Finnish hygienecard, a car license, good with animals & volunteer working with youth..

  • Languages spoken

    Native in Finnish, fluent in English, decent Swedish & German

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

Georgy


Photos

Feedback