Anne

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/09/2016 - 06/05/2017

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Annie, and I'm from a beautiful little town in rural New York, USA. I am 18 and will soon be graduating from high school. I'll be attending Carleton College where I hope to major in International Relations/Environmental Studies. But before that, I'm taking a gap year! During my year off, I'm eager to travel, meet new people and experience different ways of life, see some beautiful places, become proficient in French, and (hopefully) become wiser and more independent.

    I love spending time outdoors, running, baking/cooking (particularly with other people), trying out new things/foods, writing, reading poetry, watching good movies, learning languages, and working with children. Having stayed for periods of time at a local Quaker retreat center, I have experience in communal living situations.

    I'm prepared for challenging work, but also am searching for a happy home and a kind, easygoing family to stay with and become a better French speaker!

    Please don't hesitate to contact me!

    - - - - -

    Bonjour!

    Je m'appelle Annie, et je viens d'une belle petite village dans l'état de New York. J'ai 18 ans et je suis diplômé de lycée. L'année prochain, je vais à l'université où je voudrais étudier les politiques internationales et l'environnement. Mais avant, je prends une année sabbatique! J'espère à voyager, rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, améliorer mon français, et (j'espère) gagner la sagesse et l'indépendance.

    J'adore la nature, courir, cuisiner, essayer de nouvelles choses, goûter de nouveaux aliments, écrire, regarder les films, apprendre les langues, et le travailler avec les enfants. J'aime les défis et je suis prêt pour un travail stimulant, mais au même temps je suis à la recherche d'un foyer heureux et d'une famille française aimable avec qui je peux amiliorer mon français.

    N'hésitez pas à me contacter!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Outdoor work
    Housework
    Teaching
    Writing
    Childcare
    Serving food
    Guitar/Cello/Piano

    Friendly
    Adaptable
    Takes direction well
    Good communicator
    Respectful
    Self-directed
    Hardworking

    I have experience working as a summer camp counselor, helping teach English in a first grade classroom, babysitting, serving meals at weddings, and doing trail cleanup projects. (Each summer, I volunteer on a trail maintenance crew in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. We hike into the mountains with 60 pound backpacks, set up camp, and complete trail upkeep projects such as digging drainage ditches, building outdoor steps, etc.)

    - - -

    Travaux d'extérieur
    Travaux ménagers
    Enseignement
    Écriture
    Garde d'enfants
    A travaillé comme serveuse
    Guitare / Violoncelle / Piano

    Amicale
    Adaptable
    Prend bien la direction
    Bon communicateur
    Respectueuse
    Travaille dur

    J'ai l'expérience travaillant dans un camp d'été, aidant à enseigner l'anglais dans une classe d'enfants de six ans, babysitting, servant des repas aux mariages, et faisant des projets de nettoyage de sentier. (Chaque été, je fais du bénévolat sur un équipage d'entretien des sentiers dans les White Mountains du New Hampshire. Nous faisons de la randonnée dans les montagnes avec des sacs à dos de 30 kilos, établissons des camps et complétons des projets d'entretien de sentiers tels que creuser des fossés de drainage, construction d'escaliers extérieurs, etcétéra.)

  • Languages spoken

    English, French (basic speaking and writing skills)

  • Age

    3

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Taken after a week long backpacking trip
I love cats!

Feedback