Pietro & Anna Magdalena

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/02/2021 - 01/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are a well-traveled couple from Austria with six weeks of working experience in a forest garden in Southern France and two weeks of renovation work in Pico, Azores. We care about human connection, music, and our planet.

    About Pietro

    Professionally I have a Ph.D. in physics and I love to tinker with electrical and mechanical stuff.
    My father is from Sicily, so I naturally inherited a pull towards a warm climate.
    I love deep conversations, good food, quiet meditations, and a good workout.

    About Anna

    My professional background is in journalism and event management, I speak several languages and I am interested in getting to know people from other backgrounds and cultures. I quit my job two years ago to pursue my passion of traveling longterm.
    I love writing, working with my hands, helping others, and reading a good book in the sun.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography
    Blogging
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    On WWOOF, we gained some plant and gardening knowledge and how to care for animals (e. g. donkeys, a house pig, and dogs). While renovating an eco house, we learned more about woodworking, painting, and upcycling.
    We are avid listeners and love to connect with people emotionally through conversations and by singing together.

    Pietro's skills

    I have a deep STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) background, but I also love to be in nature and work without a ceiling over my head. At school, I got basic electrical installation training and some knowledge on how to handle power tools.
    Before starting to travel I built some furniture for our home myself and helped friends paint their apartments.
    On my travels, I started playing the ukulele to accompany our singing.

    Anna's skills

    I have a master's degree in translation and I am a versatile writer as well as a decent photographer. I have professional experience in organizing events and festivals (including fundraising, PR, and social media).
    I worked as an English teacher for disadvantaged children in Thailand and taught scientific writing at university.
    I am a little bit of a perfectionist and enjoy doing intricate work - but I also love getting out of my comfort zone and getting my hands dirty. I am an avid learner and love to push myself to learn new things.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Age

    35 & 30

  • What else ...

    We like to hike in nature, read, play board games, sing in a choir, and enjoy making delicious food.

    Pietro is a snowboard instructor and Zen tutor.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback