anitarose

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    United States - from Jun 2022 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi I'm Anita!
    I love to explore, and to experience life and culture in new places. Encountering new perspectives, and connecting with all different types of people, are some of the best things about traveling.

    I've always lived in Chicago, and while I love the city I can't help but find other places fascinating. The natural world especially feeds me and I find myself returning to beaches, mountains, and wide open spaces as much as I can ever since my first glimpse of the night sky during Girl Scout camp when I was a kid.

    I've camped in the Rockies, the Smokies, and the Italian Apennines. I've camped with my family of six in State, County and National Parks, around the Great Lakes, to the Smoky Mountains and out West to Glacier and back. I solo camped for a few weeks on Ocracoke a few summers ago, and I've also stayed in a houseboat on a canal in Amsterdam, a Brewer's Cottage in Devizes, UK, and a house nestled in the base of the mountains in an old silver-mining town in Colorado. I consider the planning and research before a trip, and delving into the local culture and history of a place, particularly satisfying.

    As a teacher with summers off, I've found Workaway a perfect fit for solo travel. I was lucky enough to spend five weeks in Umbria thanks to two fabulous hosts, and explored the outer banks of North Carolina while helping at a BnB. Covid really put a damper on my travel plans, but I’m ready to explore again this summer, albeit closer to home!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I've raised a family and I teach Nursery School, so I'm a great multi-tasker with lots of patience. I work well independently, and also as part of a team. I have decades of housekeeping experience, and can shop, cook, clean, and feed large or small groups - even in less than ideal circumstances.

    My years of teaching have honed my patience and interpersonal skills, while also keeping me alert and curious. I find every age of the human spectrum interesting and could work with anyone from infants to the elderly.

    I love to garden, and worked in a large local garden center for several summers. My own garden is on a small city lot, but I would love the chance to tend a larger garden. I don't mind hard work and getting dirty, and would be happy to be outside to plant, weed, water, or harvest in your garden.

    I've survived complete remodeling and rehab of my home (while living and raising four young kids in it!) and can provide support, semi-skilled labor or cleanup for building projects. I'd also welcome the chance to learn more about farming and raising animals. My computer skills are basic, but I'd have the patience to teach the unfamiliar (or elderly) how to use a computer or explore the internet.

    I'd be friendly and helpful with tourists in any capacity, and could help in a BnB, hostel, or other tourist-dependent business.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    58

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I read voraciously, write a bit, am experimenting with watercolors and working on balance - in Yoga and life. I'm happiest when cooking good food and feeding people. Laughing around the dinner table with my four grown kids is one of my sweetest pleasures. Summers are usually full of bike rides to the beach, puttering in the garden and waiting for the Moonflowers to bloom. Last year a fortuitous find of a caterpillar on my parsley led me to rear a few dozen butterflies - swallowtails and monarchs. Who knows what I’ll find this summer! Maybe I can help tend your project, business, garden, kitchen or kids!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback