Ana & Andy

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/06/2019 - 01/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, I'm Ana, a 34-year-old German-Portuguese multilingual communications specialist in love with yoga, animals, writing and food. I am also passionate about wildlife conservation, especially since we started travelling // I'm Andy, a 37-year-old former professional dancer and creative director who loves to come up with new ideas and strategies for businesses, take pictures and shoot videos, organize events, run and play the guitar. // Together, we enjoy a healthy life and are always looking to keep it as vibrant as possible thanks to new challenges. We both enjoy good workouts, fresh air, yoga, organic foods and as much contact with nature as possible (we used to live on the countryside before travelling).

    We decided to set out on a one-way trip (from Mexico to Central America, South America and maybe over to Asia) to disconnect from everything and everyone we knew so far, to reconnect with our true essence in order to give the best of ourselves in this world. We believe that we all have unique skills we are here to share with others so that we all grow and advance. After having volunteered for several projects in Mexico, it became clear to us that the best way to find clarity and purpose for ourselves is to help others and contribute as much as we can to their advancement.

    So far we are thrilled to have made our hosts happy thanks to the combination of our very different yet complementary skills and we very much look forward to continuing to contribute and advance projects that speak to our hearts - whether in contact with animals & nature, local communities & education or in the field of wellbeing & holistic health.

    During our travels we find ourselves diving into some creative work we've never before taken the time to do, such as photography, video editing, blogging and copywriting. You can have a look at my Instagram profile (@anaspits) on which I enjoy sharing some of our adventures or join us on YouTube (Nomad Spirit), where Andy shares some of his travel videos so far.

    All the best,
    Ana & Andy

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    (Ana): I speak 6 languages fluently (German, Portuguese, French, English, Italian, Dutch) and love copywriting. My 10-year work experience in communication agencies and international corporations as a Communications Manager trained me well in overall project management (branding, visual identity, social media strategies, copywriting...) and all things communication/marketing. Besides that, I'm pretty good at and love Vinyasa yoga, which I'd be happy to share! I'm also into healthy diets (I've explored and applied a range of nutritional theories, such as ayurveda, the ketogenic cuisine, raw foods, smoothies & juices, gluten-free, steamed food...). This is a domain I've started exploring 2 years now, and which helped me cure a series of health issues (chronic pain / inflammation, IBS, headaches, fatigue etc.). Plus, I simply adore food! :-)

    (Andy): I'm a self-taught entrepreneur and former business owner. I have a hard time stopping my brain from coming up with creative ideas and business strategies - expecially for promising projects that speak to my heart. I am passionate about business, marketing & sales, design (I've taught myself how to use tools such as Photoshop as I set up and marketed my businesses by myself), the creation and coordination of events and helping brands that share my values and vision get the visibility they deserve. After handing over my company 3 years ago (I had built several dance schools with over 800 students in under 5 years), I pursued my passion by helping Belgian brands increase their sales and improve their image.
    Other than that, as a former professional dancer and instructor, I am passionate about the way our bodies work and how to best take care of this fabulous tool we possess since birth. I can share quite a bit of knowledge about running (I run marathons), pilates, yoga and swing dance, to name a few.

    Together, we make up a pretty nice communications agency ;-) Our goal is to keep learning and to apply our skills to new domains by helping local for-profit / non-profit projects as much as we can during our travels.

  • Languages spoken

    French, English, Portuguese, German, Italian, Dutch, Spanish

  • Age

    34 & 37

  • Nationality

    Portuguese & Belgian

  • What else ...

    We are currently both really into subjects related to energy, vibrational frequencies, and just generally speaking universal laws we all have the power to tap into for greater peace and wellbeing. We also simply enjoy using our bodies and moving in healthy, natural environments. So far we've volunteered in a scuba diving school, at a dog rescue shelter, at a turtle conservation program and at a horse guest ranch. As you can tell, our common passion are animals and nature! :-)

    Andy is very good with horses (he grew up with several at home), and we both are passionate about animals (our cat and horse are waiting for us in Belgium). We've had the chance to learn and practice natural horsemanship back in Belgium and also during a 3-week stay as volunteers at an equestrian ranch in Mexico. Being around horses and riding is definitely something we would like to keep on exploring during our travels. We both love new challenges that involve physical activity in nature and around animals

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      We both avoid processed foods and flour (mainly bread and pasta). Ana is intolerant to cow milk (lactose).

Photos

Feedback