Ana

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2018 - 30/04/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello :-) thank you for reading my profile
    I love travelling & spend most of my Summers either trekking long distance walks or volunteering since I took voluntary redundancy from my 30 year career in managing Health & Social Care services. I retrained as an English Language trainer (CELTA) & massage therapist with a view to travelling & working away.
    I originally qualified & worked as a nurse and did a degree in social anthropology. I also trained as an adult trainer & worked in Further Education training health & social care workers. I managed training & qualification centres, & latterly qualified & worked for many years as a strategic workforce development manager in Local Government. This work included managing teams of trainers & care specialists, commissioning, procurement, contract management, project management & quality assurance. I also retrained in hotel management &, for the last 4 years, I have managed ski hotels each Winter.

    I am fit & energetic, having renovated 19 houses, run a small-holding of 4 acres alongside a full time job, co-managed a big-house holiday rental business, walked up many mountains (500 kms in New Zealand, up to 5000m in the N Indian Himalyayas, trekked the renowned GR20 length of Corsica, the Turkish Lycian Way for 350kms, the Camino Primitivo de Santiago. And this year, I walked 800kms Pyrénées traverse. I have done the basic PADI scuba diving course in Fiji, I am keen on running & yoga - been to 2 ashrams & several yoga retreats.

    I love cooking, gardening and any outdoor activity, especially walking/ trekking, sailing, diving, skiing. I have a grown-up son so love children & child-care too.
    I have spent the last 7 years travelling solo, & stopped for several workaway projects eg. teaching English in Java and Sulawesi, doing a 6 week massage course in Bali, 2 renovation building projects in France, crewing in the Med, assisting on a Spanish wellness retreat, permaculture & kugelkulture gardening.

    I've worked 4 Winter ski seasons in France, Austria & Italy in hospitality, managing 11 self catering chalets, then 3 hotels from 30-84 beds. I worked as a manager in a luxury hotel in the Scottish Hebrides & a high dining restaurant manager. I also provided massage.

    I love this lifestyle as it allows me to live in beautiful places & meet new people :-)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    management - operational planning/coordinating/staff management, project management, QA/ evaluation
    hospitality - hotel/B&B/ restaurant/housekeeping/ cooking/guest relations
    conference planning & management
    care & teaching health care
    child-care
    teaching English
    building - interior decoration / painting
    gardening/ small holding / permaculture
    crewing (supervised)
    cooking / general house-holding / shopping
    outdoor activities - walking/ trekking/ skiing/ diving/ cycling/ camping
    massage

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age

    60

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    I am an extremely hard working and positive person, I get on well with all age groups, work well in teams or alone. I am not put off by simple living conditions
    I am self sufficient financially & flexible about where I go and for how long - nice! :-) I like to learn new skills as well as contribute my existing skills and experience to any workaway projects. These would include sailing, diving, languages, massage, yoga, skiing, walking, cycling, permaculture. I am happy to use management experience in various roles eg project management, hotel manager.
    I am currently most interested in yoga retreats, health / wellness & sustainable communities and projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback