Anna

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm a wandering college student who strongly believes in learning and by living, and becoming part of a place in order to really see it. I guess you could say I'm motivated to explore, but most of the time I'm just looking for another adventure :) I love to be outdoors: sailing, backpacking, biking, diving, and pretty much all other mildly dangerous activities (with reasonable safety precautions) are my preferred pastimes. I have a strong interest in agriculture/animal care, but have professional ambitions leaning more toward writing and architecture. I recently graduated from Lewis & Clark College in Portland (Oregon), and am taking some time off before attending the Bartlett School of Architecture in London. I am currently working for Lofoten Seaweed in Lofoten, Norway (through workaway) and am looking for a position in Ireland starting July 2022.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Astronomy
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • More details about your skills

    Skill List:

    Customer Service: As a young person, at least half of the work I've done has been in customer service or sales positions. These include: scenic flight sales (Alaska), ski rentals (Minnesota), and camping reservations (also Minnesota).

    Writing: I am versed in technical writing (the boring, academic report kind) and can also write a very readable article, per my on and off work as a ghostwriter for blogs and other sites (most recently with a gardening focus).

    Excel: I am an excel-lent data collector and manager, and generally get along with Microsoft when it comes to digitalizing these things. My experience is in agricultural data management for a vineyard.

    Wilderness First Aid: I am certified in first aid specific to backcountry/winter emergencies. I was also re-certified for CPR in 2019.

    SCUBA: Not sure if there are any scuba diving workaways out there, but I was certified in SCUBA in 2018 and have completed 19 dives.

    Baking/Cooking: worked in a bakery for two years, and make a mean chocolate chip cookie! If you hand me a recipe or show me some ingredients, I promise it'll turn out.

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I am generally very interested in learning about the following:
    - General construction/DIY home building projects
    - Gardening/greenhouse management
    - Animal care
    - How to ride a horse
    - Dog sledding/mushing
    - Managing a self-run business
    - Creative Writing
    - Painting/sketching
    - New languages (especially Italian, French, Norwegian or Spanish)
    - Sailing!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am very, very lactose intolerant. I won't die, but I will feel like I am.

Feedback

Friends

Feedback