Amy & Giovanni

From: United Kingdom & Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/02/2018 - 06/04/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    For the past three and a half years we have been working as a professional house/groundskeeper couple for large country homes. We lived in Shropshire, Worcestershire and are now working in Hampshire.
    We met whilst travelling in Spain in 2013, and since then we spent a good two years exploring other parts of Europe. We spent one summer in the Midi-Pyrenees area, doing mostly decorating and gardening work. We have worked on renovation projects, using lime, wood and stone and we would like to continue learning new and interesting skills.
    We enjoy travelling, walking, photography, learning languages, cooking and sharing cultural experiences.
    We hope to share skills and knowledge as much as possible, and to enjoy our time together having fun.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    We have worked on numerous projects together, which involve a variety of skills, including animal care, (horses, dogs,cats, goats), wood collecting/cutting, all types of gardening, painting/decorating, house keeping, cooking, and child care.
    In 2014 we spent 4 months working on an eco-build in the Scottish Highlands . Here we learnt some basic carpentry such as building a wooden frame structure, how to lime point and plaster, as well as doing some work in the garden building raised beds.
    In 2015 we were involved with building projects, doing a cement floor for a barn conversion and some basic framework construction and plumbing. During this year we were lucky to spend some time with people who really knew a lot about gardening and we were able to learn a lot about many aspect of gardening.
    Amy is interested in social sciences, arts & crafts, yoga and growing fruit and veg from seed.
    Giovanni has had several experiences working in summer camps with children and also working in the hotel and restaurant industry. He is an amazing cook and his signature dish is lasagna.
    We are both creative types who love living in the countryside. We are interested in learning about how other people live and picking up skills along the way.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    35 & 40

  • Nationality

    British and Italian

  • What else ...

    We are now very busy with our new position, but we don't exclude the idea of workawaying during our holidays!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Shellfish (Amy)

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Clearing a ruin and filling the holes in the drive... two in one!
Picking olives in Italy (October 2013).
Walking the donkeys in Tuscany.
Building raised beds in Scotland (May 2014).
Lime plastering in Scotland.
Strimming in SW France (July 2014).
Painting gates and shutters is our speciality!
We like running in our free time, here we are in the Pyrenees.
Our small boat during the winter...
...and in the summer after our first restoration project!
Laying the cement floor in France (November 2014).
Posing with a vintage tractor (February 2015).
Amy building a dry stone wall for a garden bed (April 2015).

Feedback