Austin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/05/2020 - 16/07/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Austin,

    I've been living in Japan teaching English for the past year, and I am looking to escape the busy life in Osaka. I have moved around quite a bit the past few years. I studied biology in Scotland, I did some bird research in Ecuador, and I am originally from North Carolina.

    I love being outside, and being in Japan has sparked a new found passion for hiking. I often find myself biking around Osaka and hiking the surrounding mountains in my days off. Often doing photography along the way.

    I'm also a big fan of techno music, art and learning languages.

    As for my work ethic, I am both a hard worker and a quick learner.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked on some farms before through this program I used to organise with my school. I would arrange for volunteers to visit farms which had been harvested and we would collect extra produce which would otherwise have gone to waste. We would donate this food to local food shelters.

    I have also worked in a few remote biological research stations, so I have much experience working with nature. Some of my work involved an orchid garden construction, for housing some orchid specimens at the research station.

    I have an eye for what looks good on social media, and an amateur love for photography.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Japanese: Intermediate

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I'm a big fan of bike riding, photography, hiking, art, and techno.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian. But I do eat fish and seafood.

Photos

Feedback