Amanda & Michael

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2019 - 01/05/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!
    We are Amanda and Michael, both originally from the East Coast of the US and have most recently been living in Southern California. We have been traveling both internationally and domestically since we left our career-type jobs in late 2019 and love the Workaway community!

    We both felt that the office-building and cubicle lifestyle wasn't for us and found that we thrive most when our minds remain open and our plans flexible. Since we adopted a more mobile way of life, we have become experienced with the following:

    -Farm work
    -Gardening
    -Landscaping (building fencing, mulching. etc.)
    -Organizing and deep cleaning
    -Childcare
    -Some building (insulating, laying piping, drywall removal)
    -Food prep and serving

    We have found that we greatly enjoy working in groups although we are fine with solo work, and more than anything we love the cultural exchange (even with those from our same country!) that comes from interacting with our hosts and other workawayers/volunteers.

    We have a variety of goals we would like to obtain through Workaway. We are primarily looking for ways to marry our technological/laboratory skills with a way of life that enables us to interact more directly with people and the natural world. For technical goals that includes growing food organically and sustainably, construction and renovation, and guiding experience (primarily in the outdoors). For hobby goals, we would like to hike, climb, and explore more. We enjoy anything to do with the outdoors, whether it's diving, swimming, trekking, camping, climbing, etc. Our personal goals are to understand and connect more with other cultures, an increased sense of spirituality, and to spend more time gardening, because watching something grow from a tiny seed is very much rewarding.

    In terms of our hobbies and interests, we are avid rock-climbers, and enjoy playing sports such as tennis, hockey, and soccer. We also enjoy making natural body care products, candles, and beeswax wraps. We would both love to learn to surf, learn other languages, and learn more about photography/video-editing. Above all else, at this point in our lives we are both hoping to seek out opportunities that awaken our spirituality and would love to deepen our knowledge of meditation and yoga.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Mike:
    -Computer (coding, data analytics, etc)
    -Music (piano, guitar)
    -Teaching
    -Small construction/renovation

    Amanda:
    -Chemistry degree
    -Cooking/food preparation
    -Working with Children/teens
    -Writing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    28 & 30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Feedback