Alyssa

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Alyssa and I am motivated to get out of my comfort zone, learn new skills, and meet new people. I'm also now focused on improving my French. I'm currently in Tunisia (April 2022) and heading to Casablanca soon.

    I have been WWOOFing for the past year so I have a good amount of experience on a variety of farms in the US including Puerto Rico, Hawaii, and Alaska. Through WWOOFing I learned about Workaway and pursued my desire to learn to sail and spend more time on the sea. I'm currently using Workaway as a way to have meaningful exchanges.

    In college, I studied Biology and International Studies. After university, I completed a Masters in Education, taught Kindergarten special education for two years, and then mixed levels for one. I have also taught English as a Second Language in Costa Rica. I currently have a Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) certification. I worked in Information Technology (IT) for a couple of years so I'm good with computers. I also have lots of experience in healthcare serving in many volunteer positions as well as pursuing an Medical Degree (MD) in the US briefly before deciding to go a different route.

    I love coffee, outdoor activities, learning, animals, and podcasts. I'd love to meet up to exchange French-English lessons. Cheers!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    History
    Plant care
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Being an elderly companion

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Languages
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Customer service, sailing, childcare, planting, transplanting, harvesting, animal care, cheesemaking, experience with beekeeping and mushrooms. Cooking and baking, carpentry experience, teaching, computer experience.

  • Age

    33

  • What else ...

    In my free time, I like to listen to podcasts, watch documentaries, read, and drink coffee. I am a big fan of improv - watching and playing. I also enjoy kids and dogs.

    I'd like to get back into yoga!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback