• United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    Activities i am interested in:

    My primary interest are in building/building maintenance, learning about growing produce and living in a sustainable way. I'm a brexit refugee who has just been granted residency.

    My next destination:

    Spain - from Aug 2021 until Sep 2022
    View all
  • Description

    My wife and I have lived in the centre of Plymouth for the last 2 years. We moved here after I took early retirement to facilitate her care, she’s certified disabled. We are in a position where I can step back from her immediate day-to-day care because her daughter has come to stay with us. I now have the flexibility permitting me to begin moving out of the Uk. In the first instance I’m looking for a placement for myself only.

    Before moving to our present home we had a period living off grid which we both really enjoyed. We've spent several years spending time walking pilgrimages or wwoofing. We’ve come to realise life offers much more when approached with an open mind.

    I am adept at working on my own or with others. I am honest, reliable, realistic, responsible and loyal. While wwoofing two hosts who both became good friends invited me back. One host left me to look after and care for his house and land for 6 weeks while he worked away from home. Another invited me back three times. I am a caring person who is easy going with a good sense of humour. Whilst I enjoy meeting and being with people I am equally at ease with my own company capable of looking after myself and others.

    My mother tongue is naturally English, its where I have spent most of my life. However, I can communicate at a basic level in Spanish, though I can comprehend reasonably well. I can get by in italian. I like learning languages even if their fluency eludes me. I'm accomplished at carpentry, good at painting and decoration, and reasonable with most other maintenance jobs. I have even built walls of both stone and brick, plastered and rendered small area of walls. I am able at gardening and tending produce. I can cook, look after myself and others and I am tidy by nature. I am an early riser who enjoys keeping busy and capable of working with minimum supervision.

    My wwoofing experience ranges from working: on a small domestic garden plot; a small farm with animals; a vineyard; pig farm and bread maker and three permaculture projects of sizes varying from small domestic to medium sized commercial.

    I do not drink alcohol, take drugs or use mind altering substances of any kind. I have no particular objection or moral principles about their use, it is just that I prefer the clear light of day. I regularly meditate and enjoy reflective time, which I also turn to at times of stress. I read, walk and enjoy conversation. My favoured pastimes are: language study, walking, talking, reading, and Pétanque - I'm a member of a local club.

    I was born in Trieste (now Italy) . My mother's ethnicity was Italian. My father was part Irish. I have no sense of nationalism, my primarily personal identity is European. I feel severely disenfranchised, by ‘brexit’ (lowercase intended) to the point where I feel the need to leave the UK, fortunately a view my wife shares with me.

    Fortunately I live in an area of low Covid19 activity so in the southwest in general and Plymouth in particular we have been lucky. At present there are no signs of a resurgence taking place. Nevertheless, I am not pandemic complacent, I along with the people around me take all reasonable precautions and pray for the best.

    My long term aim is to build on the knowledge I already have from my wwoofing experience; of sustainable living and in particular the practicalities of living in areas with low populations. I am looking for my first Workaway placement. I am available subject to notice.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Full clean UK driving licence; environmentally aware; carpentry; building maintenance; gardening; adaptable to most outdoor physical work; enjoy working/being with animals domestic chores - cleaning, housekeeping, cooking; caring and emotional support; negotiating; working with/organising people; keeping a level head in difficult situations; able to communicate with people from different backgrounds, cultures and languages; planning and implementing organisational structure; honest, dependable, thoughtful, responsible and prudent; BA (Hons) environmental planning; able to negotiate and work with government agencies/departments. Good with a broom and able to keep a tidy house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age


  • What else ...

    Ask and I will respond. Willing to provide mobile number to discuss placement. Willing to provide photographs of projects I've been involved with.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements