Alex

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, Croatia, Georgia, Iceland, India, Kazakhstan, Norway, South Korea, Sweden, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/04/2020 - 01/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Alex and I'm an English teacher, writer, and potentially a future psychologist who is spending time traveling the world and connecting with new people. I've spent two years in Turkey and have ticked off 8 countries from my travel list thus far (Turkey, Azerbaijan, Scotland, Spain, Gibraltar, Bulgaria, Bahrain, and India).
    I just moved back to the US for a short time, but I hope to begin a solo travel adventure this spring to focus on my writing and personal health/goals. I've started a blog and have plans to begin a book as well. One of the beautiful things about this life is that we have the chance to interact with people from every nation, faith, and background, and I can't wait to see everything this world has to offer first hand!
    Lastly, I'm a calm and easygoing person who doesn't take issue with many things. I'm willing to work hard for the short or long time that I may be with you, and I look forward to taking in everything your city and country has to offer. I hope that I can be of service to you with whatever you need as I make my stops along my journey. I can't wait to get started and to spend time volunteering, helping you achieve your goals as I achieve mine.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have two years of experience teaching, specifically English, but also other topics as well. I've taught in a kindergarten, a speaking cafe with adults, and online to Chinese children. I grew up in a small town with many friends who farm, so I also have some experience caring for animals, working with crops or even smaller gardens, and doing basic maintenance around a farm. I worked in a greenhouse for two years over the summer and also volunteered on an organic farm that grew many different types of vegetables.
    I've worked in food service for five years, so I'm able to cook and handle food. I have a basic knowledge of computers, but I'm familiar with many programs.
    I worked in a counseling clinic, and although I wasn't a counselor, I have experience in this area as well. My years studying psychology and also living in a foreign country taught me a lot about how to get along and interact well with people.
    As far as hobby experiences, I know how to edit and produce short films, hiking/camping, and also running and other sports.

  • Languages spoken

    Native English speaker. I can understand and speak some Turkish.

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    A few hobbies I have include writing, hiking, camping, running, biking, film-making, photography, geocaching, and exploring new places/meeting new people.
    In the past, I took part in theatre, but I had to give it up in university, unfortunately. I very much enjoy discussions on life issues, philosophy, and religion. While I'm not a debater by any means, I studied religion in college, so if you like to discuss these things as well, this would make for great conversation during my stay :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback