Alexa

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, France, Greece, Ireland, Romania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/09/2019 - 25/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello
    I worked for 9 years at a Wildlife Trust as Education Officer, working with kids at school and organising holiday events. I now work in the local B&B/ Restaurant and I have another job as PA to a disabled man.
    I have 2 sons (grown up and no longer living with me).
    I have been to France several times a volunteer now, and enjoy dance and music in my free time, plus peace and scenery, but also I'm interested in long term possibilities of living/working there if anyone can offer me a small wage!
    I lived in Ireland for a few years and always regretted leaving;again, I'm interested in looking into the prospect of something longer term.
    Things I can do are cleaning, gardening,animal care, shopping, and childcare. I'm not a bad vegetarian cook but don't like cooking in other people's kitchens without my familiar stuff around me. Don't mind how much clearing up and washing up I do afterwards to avoid doing the actual cooking! I'm fit and healthy but in my 60's 'so not keen on building work! But I have scraped ancient paint off an old farm carts and plough and re-painted them and also repainted lots of outdoor enclosures, which I found very satisfying.
    I'm used to my own company and like reading, playing fiddle, walking, or riding a bike, but also like getting out to Fest Noz's and wandering around markets.
    I really want to improve my French and hope to stay with someone who will help me with this.
    Thanks and look forward to meeting you.
    Alexa

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I have worked on farms and smallholdings (sheep, horses, milking, etc). I love animals, I'm not too sentimental but like to treat them kindly. I like kids a lot too but am not so good with teenagers..
    I've cleaned holiday cottages and houses, lots of. I work in the local B&B. I also work with a disabled man and used to using hoists and helping with personal care.
    Other qualifications-current enhanced CRB, driver, Social work diploma (though you'll probably be relieved to know I've never used it and hate jargon), Dyslexic teaching cert, short TEFL cert.
    I love music and dance, especially Irish, French and Breton. I play in a ceilidh band and do the'calling' and sometimes teach dance to community groups. Ideally I would make my living like this but it doesn't pay enough.

  • Languages spoken

    Some french

  • Age

    63

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I like to be self contained if possible- seperate accomodation would be preferred. I'm happy to make my own meals if you give me some basic supplies. At my last place, I had one main meal with the family and was otherwise self catering, which I thought was ideal.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback