From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/08/2019 - 19/09/2019

  • Badges


  • Description

    My name is Adam, I come from Slovakia but I study medicine at University College London. I believe that to become a great doctor, one must care also about something other than medicine: I love travelling, politics, weightlifting mountains and camping.

    I already have a farming Workaway experience from Iceland (taking care of cows, horses and sheep, repairing around the farm) and a housekeeping/ building/ farming Wokraway experience from Nepal! I also have experience from multiple volunteering stays, internships and exchanges (South Africa, Madrid, Sweden).

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
  • What skills do you have?

    In the future, I aspire to become a doctor who will passionately help patients. Because of this motivation, I have helped in the departments in Slovak hospitals where I came across the patients and learned the basic nursing tasks and communication with underprivileged people. Ever since I started university, I am in the hospital environment pretty every week, I have undergone much shadowing experience and gained clinical skills.

    I have also helped in the local house for disabled and retirement house, where I taught foreign languages, gaining skills in teaching and organizing people. Because of organizing the anti-corruption initiative, I gained a crowdfunding experience where we managed to collect 15 000 euros in 4 months. I have volunteered in South Africa, painting the art schools for children, gardening, acknowledging about AIDS and repairing the irrigation system and I have taken part in Erasmus program where I got to know new cultures and worked as a Junior Ambassador in UNICEF, getting organization skills :) When I experienced my first Workaway travel, I spent 3 weeks in Iceland with 2 other volunteers, taking care of sheep and cows and developing my manual skills. I have also travelled alone around Nepal and spent three weeks in a Nepali family, helping with the housekeeping and building!

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age


  • What else ...

    I played tennis for more than 10 years but now I enjoy rowing for the University club. I am really into science, I spend a lot of time in the laboratory and doing internships (right now, I am at the Cardiovascular Institute in London).

    I also admire nature, whales, orcas, mountains, Slovak future and society, Planet Earth documentaries, honest and humble people and people who do anything to express their opinion in election :)

    Since I am used to a small discomfort while sleeping in nature, I am very grateful for any kind of food and bed, I am really not picky :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements