Aaron & Callie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/06/2016 - 18/07/2016

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! My name is Aaron Cantu, I'm a free spirited 27 year old currently teaching middle school students in south Texas. I was born and raised in Raymondville, Tx but also spent much time with my grandparents, often taking trips to see family in Mexico. Thankfully these trips and time with my grandparents have helped me with my Spanish as well as given me an appreciation for the wonderful differences in culture.

    I enjoy taking summer trips to pacify my travel bug and gain some perspective on life. I have traveled many times before and have already visited various locations in Central and South America, and much of Southeast Asia. Although I teach full time, I use my summers to experience as much as possible... This is where you come in. I am wanting to give all that I can give in exchange for the warmth of being embraced by another culture. I enjoy meeting and conversing with new people and seeing what we can learn from each other. I have been fortunate to do much in my life and have picked up a skill set along the way that I believe to be beneficial to your success. Please be part of my journey and allow me the privilege of helping you with any and all of your needs.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    Computer- Experience with computer hardware as well as multiple office and creative software suites.

    Art- Bachelors in Fine Arts with a focus in painting. I have also taught art at multiple grade levels and still sculpt, paint, and draw as much as possible. Recent travel experience allowed me to put up a mural at a hostel in India.

    Teaching- 5 Years of teaching experience with the following credentials;
    Texas Teaching Certified up to 8th grade for Math,English, Science, and Social Studies
    Texas Teaching Certified up to High School level for Fine Arts

    Cleaning & Organization- Experience in managing studio and workshop work-spaces such as, proper order and placement of all tools and equipment.

    Construction- Constructed multiple professional sets for college theatrical productions. Also have experience with constructing animal shelters and stretching fences for pastures.

    Animal Care- Experience with upkeep, breeding, and nursing of goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, geese, and dogs; plus, minor experience with horse riding and care. Plus work experience feeding and milking cows and buffalo.

    Garden Care- Experience with personal gardening including a basic understanding of; herbicide usage, weeding, composting, organic fertilizers, and water and sun requirements. Plus, workaway experience on a farm in Nepal.

    Tending to Guests/ - Experience as a barista; welcoming customers, taking their orders, and maintaining customer happiness.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Indonesian: Intermediate

  • Age

    31 & 29

  • Nationality

    Mexican-American

  • What else ...

    It may help you better understand who I am if you knew a little more about me. Here it goes; I love hiking to the tops of mountains, attempting to surf, exploring the outdoors, art & music, cooking, climbing trees, reading books. I will be doodling and drawing constantly, so if you'd like to join, that would be great. If I am fortunate enough to stay with you, I promise an exciting, happy, enthusiastic, and honest worker and friend.

    I appreciate the consideration!

    - Aaron Cantu

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback