From: Botswana

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/10/2018 - 01/11/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, my name is Jaimie. I was born in in the unique land of Botswana and have been fortunate enough to live here for the past 19 years. I have finished school and am now ready to travel, learn and find my passion in life.
    By joining Workaway, I hope to gain more knowledge on the current languages I know, as well as grow as a person through immersing myself into new cultures and a diverse range of people. In short, I am looking forward to learning new skills that will help me grow as a person.
    So far, I have had the opportunity to travel with the Rotary exchange programme to Argentina as well as, host a Brazilian and an Argentinan in my home. I have also travelled to France, where I lived with a host family and experienced the language and the culture, and what it was like living away from home. Some of the projects I have done whist I was completing my IB Diploma include learning sign language, organizing events leading up to World Refugee Day, traveling to a refugee camp in Botswana, celebrating International Women’s Day through art and performance, as well as traveling to Maun, in the north of Botswana, to explore the effects of tourism on the environment.
    Since the time that I have completed school, I have volunteered at a local pre-school as well as at my parents’ restaurant. I also trained for the Camino De Santiago walk, which I still plan to do.
    In general, I am an open-mined, caring, easy going and curious person and I look forward to gaining new experiences and knowledge. Hopefully this will help me choose my career path in the future.
    Update: In the month of october wored at a samll herb farm in Groot Marico South Africa. this was my first workaway experence and I could not have asked for a better one. Learned loads about alternaive ways of farming, herbs and there madicinal uses. I could not have asked for a better couple to do it with as they not only mad me feel at home but also allowed me to experence vast groups of people within the g=Groot marico communty.
    Currently I am voluenttering in the Dragensburg tacking long hicks which i have not done before learning how to guide helping as much i can and

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Child minding
    Horse riding

  • Languages spoken

    First language english and have done basic french and spaish at school

  • Age


  • What else ...

    Some of my interests and area i would like to explore include yoga, sustainable living and gardening.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegitarian, who eats fish :)