From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2017 - 31/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Michelle from Australia. Originally from Brisbane (thats halfway up the east coast) I spent several years living and working in Melbourne, and taking progressively longer backpacking trips, before selling everything and focusing on travel. My study focused on archaeology and journalism, and I'm still very interested in writing, photography and all things history, however, I've decided 'career' is not a word I like. I've worked mostly in hospitality including restaurants, cafes, bars and hostels, with stints in customer service for Melbourne Museum and a Brisbane library, and have very much enjoyed all these roles. I'm becoming increasingly interested in sustainable living and have recently discovered a passion for gardening and farm work and, whilst I am still very much a beginner, I'm hoping to develop in this area.
    I've been on the road (this time) since the beginning of 2016 starting in New Zealand before heading to Mexico, parts of South America and now Canada. I've used workaway across every country and while I started with what I know, cafes and hostels/b&bs, I'm now branching into more and more diverse areas following my new interests in gardening, permaculture, sustainable building and homesteading! That said, I still love the opportunity to get back to my roots and work in hospitality, and toy with what seems to be every traveller's future plan, one day running something!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Most of my work skills are related to hospitality including bar, barista and waiting, and customer service. My previous experience with workaway has included a lot of hostels and resorts and I absolutely loved them, I'm very much a people person. I've also had some experience gardening, teaching English, looking after chickens and ducks and helping out on construction projects! I'm good with kids, love animals (although my experience is limited to the smaller types) and am confidant cooking (however it is not my favourite thing).

    I've indicate above the areas I would be confidant working in, however, I'm really up for anything and quite keen to try my hand at farming, building and larger animal care, I just might need a few extra pointers. I'm quick to learn and can work well with or without supervision.

  • Languages spoken

    fluent English, learning Spanish

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I hold a current (Australian) working with children check.
    I have a work visa for Canada
    Accredited TEFL teacher

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements