James

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey everyone!

    My name's James and I'm 25 years young from the UK, London born and raised. There are 3 things you should know about me: I love living a life of adventure, I love anything to do with self-development, and I love meeting interesting new people. But things weren't always this way. So what's my story? Originally a Mechanical Engineering graduate building a career in security systems, now a world traveller and aspiring 'digital nomad'. Errmm, how did that happen? Inspired by my 6-month motorcycle road trip across Southeast Asia; taking Thai cooking classes, trying silent meditation in Buddhist temples, sailing between Indonesia's many islands, and progressing my Muay Thai skills to the next level, I knew I couldn't go back to my old, routine life. So...

    I taught myself digital marketing and web design and started working on my own online pursuits whilst continuing to travel the world, living life to the fullest and leveraging my growing list of skills to use for unique volunteering opportunities. I've backpacked, hitch-hiked, road-tripped, and lived in over 30 countries on my journey so far, meeting amazing people and experiencing vastly different cultures along the way. I've completed two Workaways so far, the first being in Montenegro working at an adventure sports company for almost 4 months which was such an enjoyable and fulfilling experience that I've continued to get involved in exciting new volunteering roles. I'm looking for something that involves physical activities/hobbies, being outdoors in nature, and good people so that I can have another productive spring/summer period this year!

    My work ethic is strong as I like to contribute and 'earn' having awesome life experiences. That's why you can expect me to take initiative, act independently, and be adaptable in any situation, learning whatever skills are needed to help out however I can. If you need me to build a website, write content or manage and grow social media profiles I can do that as I have a background in those fields. I'm experienced in agriculture and animal care as well as various forms of manual labour. I have well-developed people skills that stem from my background as a sales rep at big events, a hostel receptionist/events planner and also having been a long time Muay Thai and Kickboxing trainer as well as an adventure sports guide. This makes me proficient in any guiding/managing roles and a natural teacher—let's practice your English and polish it up! I have many hobbies and uncommon skills, some of which being skiing/snowboarding, surfing, astronomy, chess, mycology, wildcrafting, holistic health, to name a few.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Books
    Technology
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    ADVENTURE SPORTS GUIDE — I worked in Montenegro for 4 months both leading and assisting on adventure tours in paddleboarding, open-water kayaking, mountain biking, road cycling, and hiking. This role involved a lot of work and many tasks, but in particular, required me to hone my people skills and organisational skills to the highest levels. I had to take on a lot of responsibility, learn to act independently and be able to make judgement calls. The groups I led varied in size from couples to 15 persons.

    RECEPTIONIST/EVENTS PLANNER — I worked at a party hostel in Bratislava, Slovakia for 3 weeks mainly as a receptionist but also leading some of the nightly pub crawls and other events. I was involved with promoting the pub crawls via Instagram and producing some of their content. Through daily meetings with my manager, I learnt a lot about the inner workings of running a hostel from a business perspective and their management, promotion and retargeting techniques.

    FARMWORK/ANIMAL CARE — I used to stay on a farm in Devon, England as a kid for holiday breaks and my Mum lives in a rural farm community in Kent, England so I'm a seasoned veteran in agriculture and looking after animals; grooming dogs, milking cows, lambing, mucking out stables—you name it! I've always loved animals and as a family, we currently have a high-maintenance Giant Alaskan Malamute and a horse. I have experience and interest in permaculture projects and want to explore this further.

    MANUAL LABOUR — I've helped out with various projects and worked at a few manual labour jobs, ranging from building wooden structures, working in a machine workshop, maintaining adventure sports equipment, and decorating—just to name a few. I'm physically fit and able to perform any manual tasks needed and I learn fast when working on something unfamiliar and developing a new skillset.

    HEALTH FOODS COOKING/PREP/KNOWLEDGE — I was a strict vegan for 3 years which introduced me into the world of holistic health. I can cook healthy, tasty vegetarian/vegan meals that can also be made to exclude pretty much anything requested: grains, gluten, dairy, carbs etc. I'm knowledgable in nutritional science and natural methods for managing health issues. I also enjoy wildcrafting and can identify and forage for specific herbs, berries, and mushrooms.

    DIGITAL MARKETING EXPERIENCE/KNOWLEDGE — I've developed a number of useful online skills through working for companies on their digital marketing as well as on my own personal projects. Some of these skillsets include web design, SEO for webpages, running ad campaigns, managing social media profiles, copywriting and content writing. I'm always learning/improving in this ever-changing digital space but I can offer useful insights and help out with producing and managing content.

    SALES — I've worked as both a representative and a sales assistant on exhibition stands at events such as the IFSEC International security trade show (2016 & 2017) in the O2 Arena, London and the OCEANLAVA Triathalon (2019) in Kotor, Montenegro. Dealing with customers as well as helping out with event logistics and following up with potential clients for business were some of the tasks these events involved.

    COMBAT SPORTS TRAINER — I've been passionate and involved in combat sports since the age of 12, training and competing out of various pro fight camps in both London, UK and Phuket, Thailand. I'm experienced in teaching Kickboxing and Muay Thai to both children and adults alike through 1-on-1 private lessons as well as large open group workshops. Sessions can vary from beginner level to advanced.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I'm looking to start working remotely as an English tutor so I'd be more than happy for you to practice your English with me

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    For volunteering positions, I'm really looking for places with a sense of community and lots of interaction with travellers and/or other Workawayers. I can be very spontaneous and adventurous so it would be perfect to work with people who also like to go out and explore in their free time!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback