Yvonne

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/03/2018 - 14/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello :)
    My name is Yvonne Aitken, I am 19 years old. I was born and raised in Basel, Switzerland. I grew up in an English-German bilingual household and learned French at school. I've always lived an active lifestyle, passionately dancing ballet and horseback riding from a young age, among other sports - most recently rowing. Later I was asked to work at the stables at weekends, helping with the animals, teaching the younger children and helping with overall cleaning and maintenance. I finished school in the summer of 2017 and, as I wanted to challenge myself in more ways than academically, I set out on a 2 month bicycle tour to the Nordkapp with a couple of friends. This experience was fantastic and kindled my passion for travelling and experiencing new places and cultures big time! This set me on a path for more adventure in Costa Rica (workaway and backpacking) and the Faroe Islands (cycling). A dream!
    I've been vegetarian for many years and, growing more aware of myself and the world around me, I've now become vegan. This change in lifestyle has many different reasons, but is mainly because of my love for animals and my aim to live as respectfully of all beings in nature as I can. My goal for this year is to rekindle my - admittedly neglected - french. A language I adore and am afraid to loose! Since I am now studying in the UK I'm planning on cycling home to Switzerland through France in the summer. Along the way I hope to have the chance of stopping over to meet fantastic people, getting stuck into work and learning as much as I can about life, language and culture! I'm looking forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience working with animals, in stables (sweeping, mucking out, mending, feeding, etc.) and have always enjoyed working with children. My previous workaway-trip also helped me gain experience with general maintenance around a farmstead/animal shelter and vegetable gardening. I really enjoy cooking and exploring new cuisines as well as challenging myself to a bit of handiwork such as sewing. But I am ready and willing to work hard and learn any skills that may be required of me :)

  • Languages spoken

    German, English and some French

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Swiss, British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback