Yasemin & Salim

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/07/2019 - 24/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there! We are Yasemin and Sal, from Melbourne (Australia), and we have been living in the UK for the last 2 years. We love travelling, music, cooking, yoga, and being outdoors (spending time at the beach and hiking). We are interested in volunteering together; meeting new people, utilising our skills and learning new skills, and immersing in different cultures. We have volunteered twice through Workaway already, and had extraordinary life-changing experiences both times.
    We are very friendly and positive people. We are confident with administrative tasks, as well as work that would involve getting our hands dirty. We love animals and helping those in need – whether animals or people. Growing up in Australia, we are very environmentally conscious and passionate about doing whatever we can to preserve and protect the environment. If you think we could be of any assistance to you, we would love to hear from you, and potentially help you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Yasemin – I studied Psychology and Human Resource Management at university. Most of my experience has been customer service focused office work. I have experience working in offices for charity organisations too, and really enjoy this type of work. I have worked in the retail and hospitality industries, always interacting with people and building relationships. I have also been involved in organising children’s events and running these events; supervising children and assisting them with activities. I have always had a passion for helping those who need it most, and in 2015 I lived out a dream by volunteering in Cordoba (Argentina) for an organisation called International Volunteer HQ. I helped locals with their community needs by taking part in programs involving: childcare with disadvantaged children, construction at local schools, assisting the elderly in care centres, helping patients in special needs clinics; as well as fundraising and event management for charities. While in South America, I learnt basic Spanish, but unfortunately I didn’t spend enough time in Brazil to learn Portuguese, so would love to hopefully learn in Portugal. My parents are Turkish so I can speak fluent Turkish, I like to try to learn languages (at least a few phrases) while travelling. I play the classical piano and used to dance classical ballet, however I love all types of dance. I’m quite creative and enjoy drawing; I’ve designed all of my tattoos, as well as some tattoos for friends. I grew up with many cats, and adored looking after them. Living in the UK for the past year, I’ve really missed having a pet, and would love the opportunity to be around some animals again.

    Sal – I studied Sports Management at university. I have always had a passion for helping those from disadvantaged backgrounds. Most of my work within the sports industry has had a community development focus. I have worked on programs targeted at a range of different age groups (from young to elderly). I believe that playing sport is a great way to break down social barriers and provide individuals with a sense of belonging and community spirit. While I worked for the AFL (Australian Football League) I helped refugees who were new to the country to transition into everyday life; through the use of sporting and education programs. I coordinated and managed events that assisted individuals to realise their personal potential; meet people who were in similar situations to them, as well as those who could assist them with the required skills for everyday life. I also have extensive experience working in hospitality (over four years), and I’ve been working in bars throughout my time living in the UK. I’m confident with tasks that involve building or construction, as I have labouring experience, so I’m comfortable with work that involves manual labour. My father was Kenyan and I’m learning to speak Swahili. I recently spent time in Kenya helping my family there with the legalities and finances of an ongoing building construction; to improve their living circumstances. I practice boxing in my spare time, and I love all sports. I’m a beginner surfer, so I really want to advance my surfing skills. I have a pet dog back home, which I miss dearly, but I know my mother is taking good care of her.

  • Languages spoken

    Both: English (native). Yasemin: Turkish (fluent), Spanish (basic). Sal: Swahili (basic understanding).

  • Age

    32 & 30

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback