Yaramin

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Chile, Colombia, New Zealand, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 20/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    540

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My mission in life is to LEARN. To always be experiencing, challenging myself, growing and expanding. I usually tend to throw myself in the deep end and any opportunity to learn something new entices me. I like to be involved. I want to connect. I want to create stuff. I believe travel is one of the best ways to do these things. I want to get to know my planet and its people in all its beautiful diversity. I believe there is so much to learn from every new person i meet or place i visit, everyone has a unique way of seeing the world and i enjoy having my own beliefs challenged and my eyes opened to new ideas. I think travel is very important for my personal growth and for the wellbeing of a global community.
    I am from Sydney, Australia, currently living in Wellington. I have been on the road on and off, slow travelling for over 4 years, travelling NZ and South America, and around Australia. I like to pause in one place for a while, plant roots, and get my hands dirty with something. Connect with the local community, and live and breathe everything that is unique about that place and people.
    Since i was little I have always dreamed of living on a farm. I am very interested in sustainable living, community and conscious living, and I hope to learn about different modes of alternative lifestyle as i travel. I love getting dirty, working with my hands, my feet, I am a hard worker and put care and love into what i do. I am very keen to learn new things and i pick up skills very quickly. I will enjoy any kind of work that is given to me. I am not a fussy person, I can adapt quickly to new lifestyles. I LOVE food. I prefer to eat healthy vego/pescatarian and gluten free, but I am happy to adapt as I travel and try new things. I love to cook as well and would love to share some meals with you.
    Some of my many passions at the moment are food (wholefoods/sustainable/ethical), foraging, art, making jewellery, horses, eco-building, political activism... the environment, gender equality, indigenous rights, learning about indigenous cultures and how to live more in touch with the land, aerial arts, yoga and being in nature.
    At the moment I am most interested in work with horses and eco-building. Also, after having gone around the world, I would love the opportunity to connect with and learn about the indigenous peoples and cultures.
    My skills and experience... i have done workaways for several years including work such as:
    - gardening, weeding, watering, planting
    -clearing land, bush paths, collecting firewood
    -cooking (for large groups of people)
    -eco construction, building with mud
    -animal care
    -working with horses - training arab endurance horses, mustering, natural horsemanship
    -working in hostel/inn - attending guests, check in/out, cleaning, making beds
    - teaching art workshops and outdoor activities for groups of school children
    -cleaning, general maintanence
    -communal living skills.
    I've also spent a very special month volunteering on a remote indigenous community in the Australian desert. I was working in aged care... mostly making cups of tea and chatting to the elderly, sometimes taking them out bush to hunt or collect wildfoods.
    i took horse riding lessons for many years and i am capable riding/handling horses. I have a month experience training arab endurance horses daily, and am learning natural horsemanship. I have experience with animal care (volunteer wildlife rescue, including feeding and raising injured or orphaned native animals). I have 7 years hospitality experience as a waitress, barista and all-rounder. I have several years babysitting experience. I can cook and do general house chores. I also make and sell jewellery at markets and festivals.
    I speak fluent english and spanish.

    ...I've found myself settled in Wellington for a while as a full time art student.... getting my hands dirty with a different kind of learning. And thoroughly loving it. It might mean less moving from place to place for a while, but to me it's a part of the same journey of learning and growing and experiencing the world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
  • What skills do you have?

    - 2 years workaway experience - see description
    - 5 years in hospitality - waitress, barista, cashier, kitchen hand (dishes, food prep, baking, drinks and cooking), cleaning, alcohol service.
    -artistic skills - jewellery maker, painter, clay sculptor, blacksmithing, life drawing... working with found objects and recycled materials... decorating and creating spaces/altars.
    -aged care - cooking meals, washing blankets, and taking indigenous elders out bush to hunt and collect wildfoods.
    - 8 years horse riding, 1 month daily handling/training of arab endurance horses, natural horsemanship training.
    - basic gardening skills, animal care, cooking, household chores...
    - enthusiastic and fast learner.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback