Wouter

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/11/2018 - 18/12/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My name is Wouter, I'm 30 years old and born and raised in Bruges, Belgium. Since finishing the unquestioned schooling-career I started going my own way when I was 25 years old. I always worked temporary so I could continue making (travel)plans. Long term commitments (either to a place, person or project) don't necessary frighten me but often do bum me out because I've never found anything which Really speaks to me. Paid work has always been functional, to raise a budget.
    I love being outdoors; maybe more then anything else. Nature calms and inspires me. She is a great teacher.
    I enjoy learning new things and meeting new people. For me it is what life is about. Enriching yourself is the real challenge and the potential to do so has never been greater (hence my enthusiasm for a volunteering-platform like this!) I'm quite aware of the privilege inherent to my passport and the wealthy region I come from, this effects my take on life in a way of really appreciating the personal freedom I often feel and I hope will be possible for everyone one day.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    A good pair of hands and a genuine curiosity to learn. Through the years I have gathered experience through many different jobs working as a gardener, teacher, construction worker, reception worker (hostel), garbage man etc. For my last job I worked in an auction house handling mostly Chinese porcelain. On paper I haven't a specific set of skills except for a very broad academic one, a master in criminological sciences (which in retrospect seems only 'useful' when discussing certain topics!)

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch native, English, French, a bit of German and Spanish

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • What else ...

    I consider myself to be tolerant and open minded, this results in an easy going, fun-loving person :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback