Milanie & Johannes

  • Australia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello :)

    We are Milanie & Johannes - friendly, easily likeable, versatile, adventurous Aussies from Sydney, Australia with warm, kind & spirited personalities! We have been fortunate with our careers to live an expat life these past 9 years - previously in London, New Zealand, Singapore, Tokyo, Barcelona & more recently Bali, Indonesia. Due to the global pandemic, in July 2020 we jetted from our home in Asia to the United Kingdom & have been in Europe since.

    As of November 2020 we have been residing & travelling in our motorhome (Wandering Blondie), living the van life - currently in & exploring Croatia.
    We made the decision to buy our motorhome to continue our joint passion of travelling & the desire to chase the sun. Meeting rad people along the way whilst sharing in new experiences & creating long lasting memories, ultimately is an added welcomed bonus!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Bit of background on myself (Milanie); I work remotely online within the fashion eCommerce world. I dabble in Social Media & Digital Marketing. Previously I held a long standing position as an Executive Assistant within the corporate sector. I have also worked in both the Retail & Hospitality industries - Retail Manager, Retail Sales Assistant, Waitress, behind the bar plus front of house.

    My passions are fashion, interior design & decoration, pottery, travel, FOOD - eating!!!, the great outdoors & being Australian, of course the ocean & animals/ wildlife are a BIG love of mine (ours!).
    I have varied skills - one I'm most proud of, I have a penchant for cleaning. I'm obsessed with tidiness & organisation. Many can vouch I'm slightly OCD when it comes to keeping things clean & neat. Everything has its place ;)

    Johannes is a Commerical Airline Pilot who grew up in a rural part of New South Wales on a 300 acre farm surrounded by bushland & animals of all kinds. He is accustomed to farming, animal care, general maintenance & is a keen DIY handyman - jack of all trades you could say. Away from flying & farm life, he is an eager sailor (currently studying his yachtmaster). Loves motorbikes, go-karting, is tech-savvy & has a strong passion for food & cooking! It just so happens he's also an AMAZING cook! - my favourite impromptu chef I often refer to him as.

    Together we both love to seek out new cultural experiences & challenges. Lovers of food, wine & sunsets - is that a skill?? ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Japanese: Intermediate
    Croatian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We both very much like to learn different languages. Given we've lived in various countries over the years, we try to learn that countries language to the best of our ability. I (Milanie) personally would like to further develop & improve my 'beginners level' of Croatian. I have Croatian linage through my father. However, unfortunately speaking Croatian was not our prime language at home. Now that Johannes & i are based here in Croatia, it's only fitting I learn my father tongue.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    40 & 43

  • What else ...

    We approach life with positivity, enthusiasm & good energy. Both aspire to live a healthy lifestyle - physically, spiritually & mentally. Although we don't always take ourselves too seriously - life is meant to be enjoyed & have fun along the way ;) We personally uphold a strong work ethic! Definitely not afraid to dive right in & get our hands dirty.

    For peace of mind, we both have full global medical insurance coverage. Plus a long term residents visa for Croatia.

    We consider ourselves to be a motivated couple - genuine, communicative, respectful & responsible.
    Although we are new to Workaway & the Workaway community, we are eager to meet & connect with likeminded folk. Learn new skills, plus volunteer our abilities to assist those who need a helping hand.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Gluten (Milanie, Coeliac)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten free

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback