Wendy

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/08/2018 - 10/09/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am quite a bit older than the average workawayer, since I have retired from my working career. I see the workaway program as a way to engage with people who are interested in the same things I am, and a way to learn more about how people live in different parts of the country and the world. I bring my experience and enthusiasm, and if you tell me what needs to be done, I can work on my own.
    I have a huge interest in growing and preserving food, and in cooking. I grew up on a farm where we grew asparagus, green beans and pickling cucumbers for the fresh market, as well as soybeans and wheat. I have had large veggie gardens, growing and preserving the produce. I would like to learn more about organic methods, soil building, crop rotation, pest control.
    I practice yoga, and love to take my SUP board on any available body of water to explore. I also like to sail and hike with my 2 grown sons. In my spare time I sew and read.
    Other interests are renewable energy, recycling, water conservancy, and nutrition. I like to know how things work.
    Languages tend to come easily, love to practice my French and German, and have just started to learn some Spanish.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I can cook- my best job ever was cooking for 100 kids at a church camp. I have also spent a lot of time in institutional kitchens.
    I like working in gardens/fields- i can plant, hoe, weed, harvest, pack produce.
    I can drive a tractor.
    In my career I helped to manage a business and know the accounting program Quickbooks very well.
    I can handle manual tools, paint, not as comfortable with power tools.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    64

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback