Viola

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/03/2017 - 30/11/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    750

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My name is Viola, I finished my studies back in Germany. In my future I am going to work in Highschool, teaching maths and physics. Because I probably will be working in the same job for a long time I decided to travel before I start working properly.
    I started my travels in february in Cuba, went to México, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama and Colombia. Right now I went back to Costa Rica - let´s see where I am going to be next.
    I didn´t speak a single word of spanish, when I arrived in Cuba - but now I am able to communicate and mostly get what I want to get.
    I worked in a few hostels the last months and I loved working there. I did murals, worked at the reception, worked in the kitchen, worked at a bar! I just love to stay at places longer - so you can get to know the vibe of the village, the city, the forest, the people, the hostel or where ever you are.
    I love to be with people, eighter talking, playing games, drinking wine or beer or just watch random people. :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    During my studies I tried to learn sewing - but just by selfstudies. But at least I created already a few sweaters, scarfs, skirts. Back in Germany I played volleyball in a team and i gave courses to younger children. I love to play beachvolleyball!

    I already stayed in Kenia in an orphange and did take care of very young babies, although I worked in a kindergarden before.

    I really like to cook and get to know new local food and how to prepare it.

    Because I studied maths and physics I shouldn't be that bad in calculating. But I am also able to do manual labour.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, basic Spanish

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Me and John Lennon in Havanna!
Cuba is the place where I started my travels this time!
The sweater I sewed for my brother.
The mural I painted in México!
The méxican family I worked with in a Taco Restaurant!
Me and Juanita working in San Cris, México!
The other volunteers and me in La Ruka Hostel, Puerto Viejo - Costa Rica.

Feedback