Vana & Lara

From: Croatia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2019 - 01/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, our names are Vana(24) and Lara(22). We are two college students from Croatia looking to spend our gap semester in France to improve our conversational skills. Vana studies Portuguese and French and Lara studies French and Italian. We are adventurous, love to travel and are enthusiastic about learning new skills and about different cultures, especially french. We both have been working from a young age i.e. summer jobs hence we have good communication skills, good work ethic and are hard-working. We both have pets and love all animals. We hope this experience helps us develop new skills, improves our french and gives us an opportunity to meet new people. We are both smokers but are willing to adapt to a non-smoking household and will respect your house rules.

    Vana: I come from a small town of Jelsa on the island Hvar but for the last 5 years I've been living in Croatian capital, Zagreb. My family works in tourism and agriculture, we produce our olive oil and other vegetables so I already have some experience working in gardens and fields; the tasks I couldn't escape when I was younger but I miss them now in a big city, such as planting seeds, chopping wood, picking fruits etc . As a student I learned to cook, I'm no master-chef but I can prepare some traditional Croatian and Dalmatian dishes. My family owns a rental shop for bikes, cars and scooters where I work every summer. As part of my job I got pretty good at repairing bikes so if you have squeaky brakes or flat tires I can also attend to that. I have a pet rabbit, on the island I also had cats and chickens so working with animals is no problem for me. Any skills and crafts I don't have experience with yet I'm willing and excited to learn :)

    Lara: I'm from a small town called Makarska on the Adriatic coast but, like Vana, have spent the last 4 years in Zagreb doing my studies. As i love to draw and paint, I've initially studied Art history along with French, but my love for languages prevailed and I consequently switched to Italian and French. My family works in tourism and I hope to have a similar career because I love meeting new people and learn about different cultures. I've been working since the age of 16 in various fields, from cleaning apartments, babysitting, working in a restaurant (waiter, barmaid and helper in the kitchen) to being a saleswoman in small shops. For the past year I've been both working in a corner shop and studying so I'm used to having a full schedule and am able to organize my time accordingly. I love reading, music, movies, art, sports, nature and travelling as much as my schedule permits me to. Animals are a great passion of mine, I currently have a dog and throughout my childhood I have had another one, some hamsters and a rabbit so i feel prepared to take care of them if necessary. I love to learn new things and look forward to any opportunity that allows me to do so. :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We speak multiple languages, good with people and animals, cooking, cleaning, basic gardening, organizational skills

  • Languages spoken

    Croatian, English, French, Italian, Portuguese, German

  • Age

    25 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback