Lena

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/03/2020 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    My name is Lena, leaving Germany in March 2020 looking for new adventures mainly in Spain and Portugal, but I am always open to new oppurtunities elsewhere.

    Coming from a german family, I grew up in Tuscany, Italy, where I lived for almost 20 years in an old stonehouse my family built up, in the middle of the remotest countriside and close to a national park.
    We have a Bed and Breaksfast there and some animals sourrounding us.
    In summers, I worked with people with disabilities and I always was happy of how much love came back when caring for them.

    I then moved back to Berlin to work in the eventbusiness, but now, after 6 years, I want to feel again the comfort of a different kind of life. I grew up sourrounded by mountains, woods, fields and animals that I now miss a lot.
    During the years, I travelled for sometimes short and sometimes longer trips.

    What I like most when I am on the road, is to take things easy.. I love if I can stay in one place for longer time in order to get to know not just the area but also the people I met and take part of their daily life. Nothings is worse than travelling in a hurry.

    As I've been told, I am a nice, patience, openminded and friendly. I always try to look at the big picture, focusing on how the result should look like and, in order to achieve that, I also pay attention to the smaller details.
    I am a good handywoman (thank you dad, and thank you youtube!)

    I really like working in gardens and farms, taking care of animals and spending time with them
    I enjoy staying outside working and sweating for what it's worth

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I am the perfect allrounder.
    I am a creative and fast learner, happy to work and create (also upcycling).
    I have lots of manual skills and I absolutely love animals.

    I speak 3 languages: english, italian, german and I have basic knowledge in spanish (want to learn it by end of 2020).
    My parents built up an old stone house with some land in the countryside of Italy, where my family moved when I was a kid. The work there concerning the house and the area around the house continues in different ways and phases but I definitely know what it means to live on a contruction site and what it is about. My father did all the electric and water insallments there, he planned the building of the walls and of the roof, so a lot of what I know comes from the experience I had in Italy. I sure was a big helping hand to him and learned a lot.
    Of course, when you have a house and some land, work never ends and there is alway something to do or to fix.
    I can work autonomously but I also really enjoy teamwork.
    I have experience, because of our Bed and Breakfast, in working with tourists, such as welcome them, cooking (also for many people), cleaning, babysit etc.
    I grew up near a small farm, I absolutely love the smell of stables, straw and hay.
    Since I was a child I have always been absolutely comfortable in working with them, from cutting wing-feathers of chicken, to catch rabbits on the field (sometimes they managed to get out of their boxes), bringing sheeps and goats out in the morning and taking them back in in the evening. Feeding them, check the water supplies. I can milk cows and I have experience in milking goats and sheeps too. I also know about horses, I used to spend time with 3 of them. Though I am not a professional horse-rider (shame on me) I am an good-ok rider, I love beeing around them, walk them, feed and clean them.
    I believe every animal is special and has their own personality. I am a respectful towards them, and I must say that I went on very well with every animal I met.
    I love dogs and cats. I am good in teaching them tricks or commands and I think I would be good in rihabilitating them because of my patience and calmness.
    Farmlife also thought me how fances and gates must be biuld and repaired, how grass has to be cut and what it means to storage wood to get over the cold winter. I am not afraid of getting dirty.
    In my homeplace in Italy, we have a big garden which requieres a lot of dedication and after all the work, especially in the summer (but also in the winter), it rewards us with tasty vegetables, fruits and spices.
    My grandma is really into garden, and because of her, we followed a moon-calendar gardening, but of course I can grow vegetables in the classical way too.
    In Berlin I was working in an event company, so I developed technical skills, usefull to several tipes of jobs.
    I am good in organizing things and tidying up.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    German, Italian

  • What else ...

    In my free time I enjoy walking and trekking, climbing, staying at the beach. I like to listen to music, to read and sit around bonefires. I love hammoks, having nice conversations and doing creative crafts.
    Would be happy to hear from you if you think I fit into your project :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegeterian please :) I don’t have problems in preparing meat.

Photos

Feedback