Veerle

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, France, Germany, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/07/2019 - 31/07/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm a 38 year old text editor, who every now and then needs to get away from the computer screen and the office.

    I'm a responsible and tidy person, with experience in handling horses and doing all sorts of practical things related to animal care and field maintenance.

    I love working outdoors, but I'm also happy doing things like baking (e.g. Dutch apple cake!).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Experience with handling horses, mucking out, cleaning tack and many other horse-related things
    Taking care of (sick) pets, such as rabbits, cats and guinea pigs
    Gardening; fixing fences
    Some baking and cooking skills
    Teaching Greek, Latin and history
    Proofreading in Dutch and English; writing texts for various audiences

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Welsh: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    39

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I'm a keen (hill)walker, love going out for hacks with my two horses and like reading and playing board games.

    As it is not always easy to find a 'horse sitter' when I'm away, I'd like to be able to bring my two mares with me. They are well behaved and just need a field with some (natural) shelter (and hay if there's no grass). In exchange for this, I'm - of course - happy to work more than the standard workaway hours!

    I've absolutely no problems with sharing facilities like bathroom and kitchen, but I'd prefer to have my own bedroom.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian, although I occasionally eat organic meat

Photos

Feedback