Alasdair & Rachel

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/03/2018 - 10/03/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    261

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are Alasdair & Rachel with our two little ones Lily (4yrs) & Archer (3yrs) & Luna our 1yr old (female) Portuguese rescue dog from the road. We love traveling and meeting people, getting stuck into new projects, helping people create cool things and learning as many beautiful things as we can about this world. Originally from the UK, we are now travelling Europe as a family and live in our van full-time (Currently in France).
    Alasdair is a keen surfer & self proclaimed wood butcher. Rachel loves reading, soaking up the nature vibes and trying to get back into yoga when there is the time! Lily and Archer are little wildlings who love wild swimming, splashing in mud, being creative, playing in nature, using tools, caring for animals and anything that involves music, dancing or storytelling by the fire. We want to show them there are alternative ways of living and being.
    We are both excited about new ways of doing things and new ways of living. We love the idea of connecting with the natural world around us more and finding magic in the everyday.
    We have a huge enthusiasm to learn as much as we can about sustainable living, permaculture, unschooling (& alternative parenting) and natural building methods.
    We would love the idea of ending up in a community of like minded souls eventually once we decide to settle again.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Back home Alasdair worked self employed doing lots of garden maintenance...we also worked on our own small holding for 2 years before setting off on the road (so we still have are learning ourselves with all things permaculture, but no stranger to hard graft, outdoor living & totally understand the weird and wonderful jobs you find yourself needing to do!) His work at home involved a LOT of bramble clearance, building different garden structures, gates & fences, building animal houses, enclosures & benches/tables, sheds, treehouses (mainly out of pallets, we love everything that can be made out of a pallet!), feeding & caring for animals, strimming overgrowth/paths, building veg beds, coppicing trees, planting willow structures, chainsaw work, chopping firewood & tending, watering, harvesting & mulching the veg plot. Trying his hand at preserving and various home brew concoctions with various degrees of success!
    Rachel is a qualified early years worker and nanny, with a degree in psychology...I have a huge love for wild children! We are unschooling our children, and would consider our selves to subscribe completely to the gentle/attachment side of parenting, with all activities being child led based upon their needs. We are respectful of children in all our communication with them, often finding that they are the ones that make the best teachers! Freedom for children to be as autonomous as much as possible around meal times/sleep times/play/learning is also something we value. We would love to meet like minded families on the road and give our children the opportunity to hang out with eachother, learning different languages, cultures & making new friends.
    As a family we have a huge love of animals...we used to care for chickens, ducks, pigs and various rescue animals at home. However we have also had great experience via volunteering and house sitting caring for sheep, rabbits, goats, ponies and horses too. We are more than happy to house sit or take care of your animals. In fact we would love to! It hardly feels like work.
    We are more than happy to get involved in sharing family duties or any babysitting/childcare you may need help with, to help free your time up for all the exciting projects you have planned!

  • Languages spoken

    English - would love the opportunity to learn new languages with patient people!

  • Age

    29 & 34

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We are both drivers and happy to run errands using your vehicle if you need us to.
    If archer's diet is a problem for you he will happily eat fruit instead of a cooked meal. We are not fussy eaters and generally just REALLY happy to be offered all or any food after a long days work!
    March 2018 Edit: in the last few days we've adopted a small breed stray puppy into our van - approx 3months old. Vet checked & vaccinated. Kind & obedient, great with children. Sleeps in a cosy corner in our van most of the day. Happy to keep her on a lead when out of the van if needed.
    We really appreciate you taking the time to look at our family profile and look forward to hearing more about your project soon!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Our son Archer cannot eat a lot of gluten without becoming ill. We are not strictly gluten free (& we do not feed him fancy alternatives!) he eats a lot of rice, fruit & soup.

Photos

Feedback