Richard

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    At my time of life i want to start enjoying myself and doing whatever pleases me. I have just had my divorce finalised so now i want to see some of this world before i wake up one morning and find i am unable to do anything. I started off by going to France and Spain but Brexit put paid to the other plans like getting a job on Gibraltar. So i came back on xmas eve and found a park up in a closed hotel in wareham, Dorset for 3 months and acouple of hours of work then got a job at The Weem hotel near Aberfeldy in perthshire doing renovating work for another 3 months. Then took off on the NC500 including John o groats, orkney islands and now Stornoway. I have now come to the end of this job and really enjoyed it but i will be heading back south as i have another spot in Dorset. job completed and now in Tunbridge wells living with a lovely family with 4 yr old twins. A flat comes with the job and able to sort some stuff out like a van repair. just had a request to return to Malaga to help look after puppies who will come into this world early November. after that onto Gran Canaria for a month and return to the UK late January. i will be looking for another place hopefully paid to boost the coffers then on to Greece in my campervan after the obligitory 6 months.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Hiking
    Van life
    Carpentry
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    I am a carpenter by trade. However i was plumbing from the age of 12 and kept it up. I have worked in many hotels as maintenance doing all the electrics, carpentry, plumbing, decorating, swimming pool maintenance, night portering and even helping out the waiting/bar staff. I ran a backpackers hotel in Guatemala with my wife for 4 months and taught English in El Salvador for 3 monthsduring the civil war(quite hairy) and an advanced diving course in Honduras though since gave it up. no matter which ocean i was in the fish all look the same.
    I am able to turn my hand to most things and not afraid of a challenge. I spent a couple of years as a kitchen fitter for B&Q. I didn't bother with the fact i was a prison officer for 14 years ending in 2018 as it is hardly going to be needed. I also travelled in India, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    63

  • What else ...

    I am living full time in my campervan and all is good while i have room for my golf clubs

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Broccoli, turnips and cauliflower are a big no, not allergic just can't stand them.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback