Dylan

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/06/2021 - 30/12/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello!

    My name is Dylan, but most people call me Andy. I'm 19 and I just graduated at an art focused high school where I was learning to play the drums and the xylophone, I was a part of our school choir and studied art history and music theory as well as ordinary school subjects. I graduated from biology, English and history of arts.

    I always thought that the next thing for me to do after graduating would be going to university, but some time ago I realized that's not what I want to do, as the student life is awfully unfulfilling to me. Rather than spending my time learning things I will forget the second I pass an exam, I want to work with my hands, create physical things and build skills that will actually prove useful to me.

    I enjoy most such activities, from woodworking and fixing things around the house to painting and embroidery, I also love to cook and I don't mind cleaning either. Working with animals and gardening is also something I love doing. I'm always looking for new skills to learn and will be very grateful for every opportunity and experience.

    I try to live sustainably, do things that make me happy and just be a nice person. My dream is to live close to nature and make a living creating things, however as I can be quite indecisive, I want to travel and try different stuff out before going for it myself for real :). I began my journey to self discovery last year when I went to Sweden for 2 weeks. This year I'm wanting to stay there longer, visit some different places and hopefully learn even more things than I did last year. Sweden is my destination because I adore the nature, the language and the climate.

    I am looking to stay with open-minded people who have similar mindset to mine and who will give me the opportunity to develop even more in exchange for my hard work and willingness to learn.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Camping
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    One of my biggest hobbies is cooking, I've been helping (trying to help :)) my mum make all kinds of food before I could even walk properly and now ive mostly taken over in the kitchen.


    I do have some basic knowledge of various handcrafts. I can make simple things out of wood (I'm talking shelves, above-ground flower beds, animal enclosures, fences..), I can carve a spoon or a bowl, make a basket (but it does take a ridiculous amount of time :)). I paint a bit, i like sewing and embroidering. I haven't really mastered any of those skills yet, but those are things I've tried and want to improve at.

    I'd say I'm good with animals, my grandparents have some farm animals that I sometimes help out with and now we have two cats and two dogs and I volunteer at a local animal shelter. I can also garden - again, I have some experiences from my granparen's garden and last year I also started a little terrace garden at our place and I've been experimenting there on my own. I'm especially into herbs, I like to collect wild herbs and make teas, but there's still only a few herbs I know, so this is something I'd love to learn about.

    I've also been studying Swedish for the past year, so I'd love it if we could practice together while I'm visiting! Some more of my hobbies would be climbing, music and reading.

    I can't really say there's anything I'm super good at, but whatever I do, I always try my best and I hope to learn and improve my skills more and more. If what you're looking for is a person who enjoys challenges and values all the advice given to them, I am your guy :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat meat

Photos

Feedback