Judy & Kevin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Mexico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/04/2021 - 11/06/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    243

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling


    Hiking and getting to know locals. Love live music and fun food and drink.

  • Description

    Kevin was raised in the Philippines, Germany and Mexico before moving to the States as a child. He plays ukulele, guitar and harmonica. Actually, almost anything. He is very outgoing and doesn't mind hard work. We met 39 years ago, got married and started traveling around the States and Mexico. Judy likes to cook nutritious meals, she speaks intermediate Spanish and loves kids. We ran a preschool when our children were small. We camp, fish and travel when we aren't working. Judy has worked as a restaurant and bar manager for over 20 years. Kevin owned a vacation rental house cleaning business. He also worked in the same restaurant for over 30 years as a fine dining waiter. We both bartend part time in the summer, when we are not working as camp ground hosts.
    Kevin has driven a school bus and tour bus in the past and he is very safety conscious.
    Judy earned a certificate to teach TESOL from Oxford university.
    We have successfully workawayed in Spain and Mexico. We returned to teach two years in a row in Mexico. We are planning to return for a longer workaway journey in April to June 2021. If the world will cooperate.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    We speak Spanish and have excellent computer skills. We completed a workaway assignment in Mahahual, Mexico. We for 6 months taught at a small Montessori based school. From Oct. of 2017 to April 2018. Judy also taught English at the local community center. Kevin taught ukulele privately. We returned to the same school to teach for another 4 months, the next year. from Jan. 2018 to April 2019.
    Judy loves to cook for people. In November of 2018, we workawayed in Catalonia Spain for a lovely family. She got to cook and Kevin cleaned the yard, stained the pool deck and built a goat shed.
    We both are hard workers, clean, organized and reliable. We are campground hosts in the Summer in the US. We have many years experience in hospitality. Judy is trained in First Aid and CPR, Kevin has experience in many aspects of construction. We love to travel, camp, hike and fish.
    We wear masks in our current host position and clean areas several times a day for our guests.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    63 & 64

  • Nationality

    United States of America

  • What else ...

    We both can type, compute, social media and blog as much as you would like.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Judy is allergic to iodine.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback