Sarah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/05/2018 - 27/02/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Sarah... I live by the motto, "love all, serve all." I believe that my purpose is to serve others. I am an easy going gal, but also, extremely hardworking. I love to see growth and positive change. I am fascinated by permaculture, bio-dynamic agriculture, and off-grid living. I have taken a permaculture design course and I have volunteered and visited permaculture farms all over the place! (I also majored in Biological and Agricultural Engineering, with a focus on environmental engineering... (this is NOT GMO's, it is more environmental restoration/civil engineering) I am working towards manifesting a tropical fruit farm and community. I am obsessed with tropical fruit, and I would love to try and discover rare tropical fruits that I have never had. I believe that we manifest our reality :) My mind is at one when I am in the garden.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I have done work-trades on farms all over the world. I have a lot of farm work experience, where I grew up and elsewhere... I have basic building skills such as basic wood construction, bamboo building, and skills such as tiling, painting, etc.... I recently learned how to use a chainsaw, but I could probably use a little bit more practice, haha.
    I spent three months working on a tropical fruit farm on the Big Island of Hawaii. I have a lot of experience in harvesting tropical fruit, weeding, nursery work, garden work, banana harvest, turmeric and ginger planting and harvest, etc.
    I spent two months in New Zealand doing restorative work to return the land to its native bush. Days consisted of 6 hours of cutting down invasive tree species, hauling them up hills, and grinding them into a usable biomass.
    I spent one month on a farm/surf shop on the North Island of New Zealand. I mostly did landscaping and some gardening. There was an airbnb on the farm, so I also did hospitality.
    I spent three months in central Costa Rica on a permaculture farm and animal rescue. Days consisted of building structures for new animals that needed to be separated, but mostly consisted of farm work.
    I also traveled throughout Australia and Asia, visiting farms and doing homestays along the way.
    I am currently living and working on a farm in Kauai.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish (A tiny bit)

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    When in my hometown, I work two jobs, and my hobbies are crewing for a hot air balloon pilot and do activism :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan:), I am not picky... I can live off of rice, beans, and greens

Photos

Feedback