Joseph & Lisa

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Botswana, Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Zambia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/01/2019 - 03/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are an adventurous couple from Cape Town, South Africa. We are married since 2006 and have a son, Josiah, born in April 2017. We are outdoor enthusiasts with a keen liking to trails, mountains and camping. Our upbringing and exposure to the Cape Town lifestyle has had a lot to do with this. We are generally pretty relaxed, live simply, work hard and steward all we have and come into contact with, including relationships with people from other cultures.

    We are aiming to complete a trans-continental African/European trip via our 4 x 4 from Agulhas (most Southern tip of Africa) to Berlin, Germany (A to B) starting in March 2019. While traversing through many countries we aim to seek where we will finally live in making holistic impact mainly through business/entrepreneurship of any kind we feel we can make impact in to assist those to help feed themselves. With a business in coffee and a passion for water access and sanitation, we are looking to highlight and investigate how these resources can be better stewarded through economics and business.

    We have both been guests and hosted on the Airbnb platform, having stayed and used Airbnb as guests in 14 countries and hosted guests from 5 continents. We also love watching sunsets and playing Frisbee! Some of our favourite travel destinations are campsites where we can have a braai (South African version of a barbeque) and homes with great character. Our style of travelling is chilled, compact backpacking style and you can be sure to experience the whiff of freshly brewed coffee wherever we go. Visit https://trailblazer.co.za/ for our Tales in adventure and life.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Joseph:
    Qualified as a Roll Label Machine Minder (printer), with National Diploma's in Printing and Packaging. A factory worker for his first 9 years out of school has made him tough, yet nimble to the demands of hard labour. Extremely practical, he is able to pretty much do anything with his hands from building to welding, woodwork, lathe work, basic electrical and plumbing work. Yet, he can do a pretty good job in administrative work, project management, leading people towards a common vision/goal, while inspiring others to follow. Besides, he can also brew quite a good cup of coffee - well, he is a qualified barista!

    Having traveled to 40 countries so far, his experience is vast in cultural adaptation and the serious side of adventure travel, being able to live off very little and learn from those around him by serving from his heart without expecting anything in return. Joseph climbed Kilimanjaro at 16 years old and hiked in Nepal alone when 20 years old with a guide.


    Lisa:
    Incredible with her mind, Lisa is gifted with understanding the world of numbers in various forms from being one of the top 10 Charted Accountants in her country to understanding Tax Law (Masters), and the simple effects of these on a small business to a country's economy. Lisa is gifted at tutoring and is an incredible full time (chosen) mother to her son. Lisa has traveled to 33 countries. Simplistic in nature, Lisa enjoys the softer side of real relationships and fostering deeper connections through authentic conversations.
    Lisa is gifted at being an incredible helper/support to her Trailblazer husband Joseph, with behind the scenes administrative work, incredible cooking and baking, and is simply the backbone to this family.


    Joseph and Lisa:
    Sporty at heart, we enjoy running and hiking (trails, of course) and have both represented our province and country in numerous sports. In 2015 we traversed 26 countries in 8 months which has had the effect on us in being able to see life a little differently which has impacted our everyday decision making and how we steward resources. Experiences in hitch hiking, wild camping, running mountain peaks of up to 3000m in one day, multi-day hiking and navigating our way through various difficulties together has enabled us to grow not only together but learn from how we respond to each other in these times.
    In 2016 we built and started our mobile coffee business from scratch and for three years we traveled around the Western Cape of South Africa adding value to various events in brewing directly traded artisan coffee, utlising biodegradable/compostable packaging.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans

  • Age

    36 & 34

  • What else ...

    As at June 2019:
    - Our son Josiah is 26 months old. He was born naturally in our lounge. He is a really relaxed little boy and goes wherever we go, be it with our mobile coffee business when we were doing that and doing workaway at three different farms so far. Extremely well traveled, he has adapted to this somewhat different lifestyle we have lived. He has been to two countries already! Although we do not take any credit for this, most people are blown away "how good he is"; and so we do not see traversing the length of Africa and Europe with him an issue :). We would appreciate you considering hosting us and we are sure Josiah will provide you (and your guests) as much blessing as we do have the privilege of being his parents. If you would like a reference for him, we can arrange one :).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin, both Lisa and Josiah

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, although we prefer healthy, unprocessed food directly from its source.

Photos

Feedback