Toshiko

From: Japan

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland, Iceland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a garden and flower lover and crazy about drawing. Whenever I do flower arrangement and drawings, I can go so much without sleeping, eating and even going to bathroom :P.

    I like to eat fresh! I am open to any food mostly vegetables, mushrooms, and rice is my main food :D I also like fish when I get a chance. I really enjoy the freshness and colors from fresh food!

    Even though I am from a second crowded city in Japan, I like to enjoy grace from nature with my full body :) Fresh air from forest, river, lake, and ocean fulfills my energy ;)

    I would describe myself as an adventurous person too. I grew up in Japan and went to a university in USA without knowing zero English. I always learn through helping out people, so I completed 4 years of Sociology. I enjoy volunteering in rural areas, in communities who have totally different backgrounds than me. I am open to meet people who have different perspectives from various backgrounds.

    I am currently freelance as a life-coach and sales coach.
    Psychology, behavioral science, ethical business, sustainable economy have been always my high interest

    Joining workaway is my way to learn about myself and travel. I always challenge myself by trying new things. I am curious about so many things..I am ready to try them out and learn more about them. So far, my interests are followings.

    being a naturist
    fresh healthy meals
    learning about food justice
    sustainable and ethical way of animal care
    perma-culture gardens
    medical herbs
    flower arrangements
    life coaching
    and not at least, drawings!!!

    I also prefer having interactions with host and their family, friends, whoever around :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching English
    Teaching Japanese
    Helping out gardening
    Art project
    Customer Service
    General house maintenance
    Animal care
    Cooking
    Daily choirs
    House sitting
    Basic computer skills
    Painting
    Drawing
    Translation
    CAD skills (2D and 3D in Vectorworks)
    Advanced wilderness first aid skills

  • Languages spoken

    Japanese, English, baby Spanish and Korean

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Japan

  • What else ...

    Experienced a lot of volunteering. Some times in the cities, sometimes up in the mountain. For instance, cooking at a local soup-kitchen for homeless people, child sitting at a town church, campaigning for UNHCR and GreenPeace in metropolitan Tokyo, etc

    I love art. I do water color painting and enjoy pleasant colors of nature :) I carry my brush n coloring materials with me while traveling :)

    Learnt traditional Japanese flower arrangement (Sogetsu). If you are interested in, I would love to share those stories too.

    I love being out in nature. Hiking, rock climbing, walking woods, river, or beaches..I love the feeling of sun and wind :)

    My recent occupations were always related to nature and sustainability of development. I was a sales person for natural food retailer, other times I was a nature guide up in a mountain. I was also one of the staff members in a restoration place in Miyagi prefecture, where they had enormous damages from the Great East Earthquake in Mar. 2011. In that restoration place, those family from Fukushima prefecture can spend "get away" time without worrying about air and soil contamination. This experience got me interested in working for renewable energy and sustainable energy production. I was working for bio-gas project in a research company in rural area in Miyagi. I do have a lot of story I can share. Please let me know if you are interested.

    Have a nice day! :D

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      none

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Going up to the Mt. Kurikoma in April with middle school kids who are in need of self dignity building help.
I have been a staff member in a restoration place in Miyagi, the place family from Fukushima prefecture can spend relaxing time without worrying about air and soil contamination. This experience got me interested eco-farming, renewable energy, and indigenous tribe lives.
Guiding my family to the Buna tree primeval forest.
Nice tea time with fresh mountain air :D
We made this huge permaculture garden up on Mt. Kurikoma!
On the Mother's Day!
My flower arrangement work for end of the year exhibision@ Shinjuku Keio Plaza Hotel.
My flower arrangement work at a workaway host place :)
Drawing morning drops ;D
Enjoying a small break with my friend in a beautiful forest in Sweden

Feedback