Matthew

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Mexico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/01/2017 - 28/02/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    656

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    There once was a man from Leeds who always said Thankyou and Please, he played ukulele, smiled and laughed daily, and will help with whatever you need!
    Hello,
    My passion/interest is the natural world; photographing, reading about, learning about. I believe we are a part of it as much as a branch is a part of the tree or a wave a part of the ocean.
    I am gregarious. I grew up in the suburbs of a city and after various Workaway experiences I am increasingly interested in communities;.. what is a healthy community, what is needed to maintain the relationships and how individuality fits into them.
    I have started writing and playing my own songs, and have finally built up the confidence to play in front of people.
    During the Summer of 2019 i will be (hopefully) attempting the long dreamt about adventure- to walk across my home Island, the UK. 1000 miles in 3 months. Which will enable me to fulfill another dream of mine which is to produce a feature length documentary!
    Workaway for me is all about the exchange. The exchange of ideas, cultures, hardwork, kindness, knowledge, insights and obviously accommodation! (Maybe food..)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Since being on Workaway, i have worked in a variety of settings;
    - Permaculture farms
    - Backpacker hostels
    - Cottage holidays
    - Handy man
    My skills include videography, gardening, cleaning, housekeeping, photography, song writing and I am beginning on a woodworking journey.
    I am a great listener and learner.
    My main path though is videography. I'm aiming, initially, to go into the promotional/travel industry. But would love to make a living from making and editing videos highlighting sustainability and the natural world.
    I was also street fundraiser for three years back in my sedentary life, which massively increased my people skills; being able to empathise with the other person, listening to understand not just waiting to talk and being able to keep calm under target pressure whilst working in all types of weather (scottish winters)

  • Languages spoken

    Learning Spanish

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback