Tommaso

From: Martinique

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 11/11/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there!!
    My name is Tommaso. I was born and grew in the city of Milan, Italy, but I spent most of my childhood holidays between the Alps and Venice.
    My parents brought my brothers and me all around Europe since we were child. I had my first oversea travels in 2002 (Palestine and then India), then I simply couldn't stop travelling.
    I have been living, studying and working as an agronomist here and there, mainly in western Africa, between 2004 and 2009.
    In 2010, after finishing my Ph.D. I moved to Martinique and begun a new farming life (you can have an idea of what that is about here: https://www.facebook.com/lemacabou).
    After 9 years of farming and very few occasions to travel, I have now the opportunity to spend two months discovering Colombia and Perù. The aim of this trip is to do a lot of hiking, help wherever I can and learn as much as I can!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I know a few things about farming and animal holding (both from studies and from experience). From time to time I am a consultant for NGOs, I do training for farmers and agronomists on agroecology and permaculture (the last consultancy where in Haiti and in Niger).
    I have the habit to live with other people (I have been hosting wwoofers for 8 years).
    I love to cook (it has also been an important part of my work for the last three years).
    I have the habit to do household chores, and I kind of like it.
    I helped building the house where I live.

  • Languages spoken

    I speak Italian, French and English fluently, a few words of Wolof and I am know trying to learn Spanish

  • Age

    39

  • What else ...

    I love music: I play a little bit saxophone and tuba. I listen to tons of reggae, brass bands and jazz.
    I enjoy cycling (a life ago I crossed Europe from Holland to Italy) and hiking very much!
    I love to read, especially novels (Murakami, Coetzee, Steinbeck, Vargas Llosa, Zweig,...), and I was really touched by some essays (Jared Diamond, Michael Pollan, Wendell Berry,...).
    I love also movies and series, playing board games (love Mah Jong!)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback