Thomas & Abigail

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/06/2017 - 15/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    511

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello there, my name is Tom, my girlfriend and I are an English couple in our mid to late 20's, who have previously used Workaway when travelling through South and Central America throughout 2017 & ‘18, having loved workawaying in Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica & Canada. We are now coming back to Canada once again with working Visa and looking to get involved with Workaway projects before possibly settling in Canada longer term, exciting times.
    When we learned of Workaway, we thought what a great way of enriching our travels meeting new people and helping local families\business'.
    PREVIOUS VOLUNTEER PLACEMENTS: So far in Brazil we have enjoyed gardening, planting seedlings and caring for plants and trees. When in Colombia we helped decorating a neglected hillside mansion in the coffee region; this included scraping, sanding and then painting walls and ceilings.
    We also worked in the gardens and running errands driving the property owners jeep. In Colombia we helped with a bio construction project, plastering the walls of a bamboo house which we enjoyed very much!
    Most recently we carried out tile grouting, filling voids in walls, building a boundary fence and cleaning a property ready for holidaymakers checking in.
    Below I will tell you a little about my professional experience, interests and passions; most recently Abi and I have ran our own painting and decorating business in the UK, Prior to this I was an Aerospace engineer with a degree in Manufacturing Engineering, I have experience in milling, turning, grinding and adhesive bonding. I very much enjoy hands on 'do it yourself' projects both indoors and outside and have a 'can do' positive attitude towards life and work. I enjoy and play sports, football, cycling, golf climbing, hiking and gardening, carpentry & DIY. I have a UK drivers licence (10 years) and am happy to drive a car if required.
    That is enough about me, please see more about my girlfriend Abi below;
    Hello, my name is Abi, back in the UK, I was a water quality analyst (prior to running our decorating company) for the local utility company and have experience in various customer service roles. With a degree in geography, I adore nature, wildlife and am keen to gain some experience in conservation\ecology. I am proficient working with computers and also keen to do some more 'hands on' tasks, whether that is gardening, building, decorating, cleaning etc. In my spare time I enjoy cycling, hiking, gardening and also enjoy painting.
    We are both proud of the skills we have gained to date but are also very keen to learn new skills, trying out different things, as we might discover a new passion we didn't know about.
    We are both in the early stages of learning Spanish and are keen to practice and improve during each placement. We are also happy to help others with their English skills :-) .
    Thank you for taking time to read our profile, if you feel we would be of help to your family or business please do get in touch :-)
    For our planned locations over coming weeks, please see the 'Other Info' section. We will update this regularly :-)
    Kind Regards, Tom and Abi

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    People skills, communication, engineering, Handy man\woman, painting, decorating, tile grouting, void filling, basic carpentry, creative arts, gardening, IT \ computer skills, cleaning. Speaking, reading & writing English.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    30 & 27

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    We are landing in Canada in early September 2019 and looking to get involved with a Workaway project in or around Vancouver City. Note: We’ll update this section with our plans and whereabouts regularly.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Abi is vegetarian

Photos

Me and Abi on our travels at Perito Moreno Glacier, southern Patagonian Ice fields.
Me and Abi on our travels at Machu Picchu
We made a table for potting plants.
Abi weeding the vegetable garden.
Abi collecting fruit from the orchard near São Roque, Brazil.
Holding the fresh salad picked from the vegetable patch at our first workaway placement near São Roque, Brazil.
Tom driving the tractor at our first workaway placement near São Roque, Brazil.
Fixing a cupboard leg with a wooden dowel and glue.
Abi caring for owners puppy.
Tom driving jeep to transport grass in bulk from football field.
Clean, prepare and paint neglected bathroom in Colombia.
Plastering walls on bio-construction project in Colombia. Before final plaster and after.
Grouting the poolside tiles. - before, during and after.
Bamboo fence construction in Costa Rica - during and after.

Feedback