Christine

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Namibia, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/01/2019 - 30/04/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    147

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am solo travelling the world and like to give a helping hand in between. My nationality is German, living/working in Switzerland for 15 yrs.
    In the work-away context I truly value the hospitality of the country that I travel at the time - and like to show my gratitude by offering interim help.
    I offer classic work ethics and can see areas of improvements, am solution-oriented, reliable, honest and interested in the big picture and detail alike. From my perspective, one of the most important things while lending a hand, is the ability to fit in, to smooth edges and to intuitively see, where help is wanted.
    My professional background is rooted in the tourism- and service business and I collected a diverse spectrum of experiences for a total of 14years (Tour Operator, Flight attendant for PanAm and Lufthansa Airlines, Hotel Sales for Hilton Chain). I developped into a generalist, skilled organizer, always working in cross-cultural contexts. 1994 I started and ran my own tourist business on the Arabian Peninsular (Oman) for 10yrs. From 2004 onwards I accepted leadership & managerial positions for 15 years in a famous global pharmaceutical corporate, headquartered in Switzerland. In this context I headed the relocation/housing for international expatriates - as well as the global event management.
    After facing some tough personal life questions, I decided the best next thing to do is to go back to basics, give up my possessions and to travel this planet in slowmotion, with open mind and open ending (since Mar'17).
    At the age of 56 - I know how to enjoy the moment, I value the importance of kindness, high-end work ethics and I learned to look after myself without neglecting others. My friends say, that I have a "people's" personality and good energy.
    Personally, I enjoy nature in all forms and variations, animals, books, music, yoga, meditation, interesting company and sinister jokes. I am able to enjoy time with myself. I am grateful for the "home-away-from-home" you´ll be offering and treat your possessions and needs with respect and care.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I may offer help:
    1. in all areas of accommodation business (front desks, running guesthouses, quality management, public relations, guiding tourists, housekeeping, etc.)
    2. animal care
    3. house- and pet sittings
    4. general housekeeping, gardening and odd jobs that require attention

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, little French

  • Age

    57

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Due to my expanded travel itinerary, I have time on my hands and am flexible in terms of duration, if both ends meet.
    Looking forward to meet you.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more