Timothy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/02/2019 - 11/04/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    After leaving my financial trading jobs 9 years ago , I have traveled much and experienced even more. In those 9 years i refined my ways of travelling to become slower and spending more time in one place. I have spent 2 years working in Spain in hostels and as an English Teacher. Im always looking for a workaway experience where I can meet new people, make new friends, challenge myself and share good times. In my new cycling trip to Spain im looking for a place to settle and live and one day would I dream to run a bar or restaurant.

    I have worked in a hostel in Malaga for 5 months, volunteered in hostels and guest houses in Santiago de Compostela, Gran Canaria, Malaysia, Spain, Japan, Chile, Argentina and Colombia. I really enjoy working in reception but also work well in cleaning, bed making, cooking and a small bit of maintenance.

    Last year in Patagonia I have helped with constructing a tourist cabana in Puerto Natales and have helped with English teaching and cooking in Melimoyu and finally just 2 weeks in a hostel in the very North east of Colombia,

    The year previous to that I spent 3 months in a Great hostel in Gran Canaria before teaching English in Japan and then Colombia.

    My Spanish is, i think, close to fluent now. I have also been a walking guide in Levico, Italy while a holiday representative for TUI, and done some mountain bike guiding in Lagos Portugal.
    I spend a lot of time keeping fit and quite a bit of time preparing food, I like to cycle, swim, run, some Nintendo Wii working out, and some muscle workouts. love dancing by myself. Read the odd book, watch the odd film, arrange the odd flower.

    I have many skills but can be described as a good all-rounder, although i cant sing and my artistic side leans heavily towards abstraction.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    All rounder, cooking, teaching, good with kids, willing to get dirty, not frightened of physical exercise, Easy going very open and honest person. Speak spanish. Can mend/fix something simple.
    problem solver.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish.

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    UK

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

it came to pass i went to Halong again after four years, and this is what i wanted to do again.
some of my abstract workawaying art.
painting the wall in santiago.
my first workaway in Santiago de compostela was amazing.

Feedback